no. 608 – The Goodyear Blimp, It Is Not

Every Monday, XBoy’s class gets to go to the library at school and pick out a book for the week. Books have been integral to our routine over the years, but I have to admit that since he started Kindergarten and the proceedings to emancipate himself from Mom and Dad, the nightly readings of three books have turned into a mighty fuss and roar about whether or not he needs to wear pajamas, brush his teeth and straighten his room all followed by him passing out in an exhausted heap.

He’s already brought home two versions of the Bible, elementary style. He liked the illustrations.

And then Stiletto mentioned something about one of the books The Boy brought home from school and it reminded me of one of XBoy’s recent acquisitions:

Hindenburg Ummmm, call me a little overprotective of my sweet, darling baby boy, but is this the kind of book a librarian should steer an impressionable six year old towards?

It’s got pictures of severely burned passengers in it.

It’s got pictures of the cloth covered bodies in it.

Actually, I don’t know if he knew that or not as he never opened it while it was in our house, but I did sit down and read most of it myself (too bad about that whole helium vs. hydrogen business because it really does sound like a nice way to travel).

The week before it was a book about the different kinds of lightning there are. That one I ended up reading cover to cover for him, but only because it had really large font and the words were on one page and really cool pictures were on the opposite. Go ahead – quiz me about lightning. For that matter, go ahead and quiz me about the Hindenburg. I wonder if I can get him to bring home a pregnancy book…

By the way, does anyone else see the irony in the instructional books for teaching your child how to read "phonetically"?

5 thoughts on “no. 608 – The Goodyear Blimp, It Is Not”

  1. The pictures sound totally inappropriate for a six-year-old. Well, really for just about anyone. And anyway, what does it add to the story?

    That said, my mother (who is admittedly whack, but *is* a psychiatrist) claims that kids generally are very attracted to books about disasters or ferocious animals because reading about those kinds of things helps them to externalize and control some of the violent emotions that they feel, like fear or rage, but don’t always know how to handle appropriately.

  2. Maybe the librarian could suggest the book on ‘extrication of trapped passengers using the jaws of life’, or maybe ‘syphilis the musical’…what 6 year old wouldn’t find that fascinating I ask you??

    My boys liked anything that was action related, cars, trucks, airplanes, there are only about a zillion age appropriate books she could lead all the kids to….are you sure she isn’t mad at you for something:) ??

  3. HA. Phonics. Good one.

    The Boy is obsessed with lightning, too. We have a child’s book on it and read it often.

    Burned bodies? My guess is the librarian has never opened the book, but still – steer the kids in the direction of age appropriate books. I commend you for reading it.

  4. Ok, take a look at the “Ripley’s Believe It Or Not” children’s books sometime! They’ve got some gross, nasty pictures in therer. And I will admit – call me a bad parent if you wish – I have actually said “No, that book has too many words, pick one that doesn’t have so many words tonight.” LOL. I’m bad.

    I have, however, read long freaking fairy tale after fairy tale on nights when bedtime wasn’t an issue.

  5. I work in a book store and I’m often surprised what is classified as “childrens”. I mean, do the older kids at his school need to see burned bodies either? No, no one does. Especially a child of any age. (Husbands who never grow up don’t count here though.)

    But, I guess with the internet lots of kids see EVERYTHING…makes me sad.

You can say it here.

