no. 611 – It’s Not a Gecko

My ultrasound today did not reveal a being with a prehensile tail and stubby limbs to explain why I have felt no movement. Instead we saw measurements taken on the hemispheres of a brain; a four-chambered heart; and two kidneys. We saw kneecaps, femurs, humeri and even five teeny-tiny toes of one foot.

Murdock is measuring exactly where s/he should in gestational age and approximately 12oz. And even though a great deal of squirming was caught on the screen, I may as well have been watching someone else’s ultrasound images. It was confirmed that my placenta is indeed right on top ("top" as in the belly button would be the skylight) and it will take some considerably powerful kicks for me to feel them at first. The tech thought that I would probably start to feel them more towards the sides.

We never got to enjoy this part with XBoy. When the screen came back as positive and we were sent on a whirlwind of subsequent testing which resulted in an amnio, we were too frazzled and too inexperienced to know not to lay too much belief in the original screens, which commonly come back with false-positives.

Routine appointment in another four weeks. I feel very, very lucky right now.

41 thoughts on “no. 611 – It’s Not a Gecko”

  1. Congratulations! Hope you can rest a little easier now. You certainly deserve to give yourself a break from worry.

  2. I felt a tiny bit dumb for a minute because I read 4 chambered heart and then 2 kidneys and thought “Oh no! Is the baby developing some twin thing like conjoined twins?” And then I realized I’m a moron. I’m glad all is going well.

  3. Absolutely great news! So glad Murdock is healthy, and what a big sigh of relief about the placenta, too. I just love that word… routine!!

  4. How can I do the secret things I need to do if I don’t know which variety of baby it is??? Email me please, as good things may come your way. ;o)

  5. How wonderful! What a relief – enjoy it! I figured there had to be SOME reason why you weren’t feeling movement yet. That happened with me in my first pg.

    Have a wonderful day! Did they give you pictures to take home of Murdock?

  6. Great news! I really want to know the sex though, can you slip away to one of those mall ultrasound places and find out please? Or actually with my crap intuition I’ll make a guess and then it will most assuredly be the opposite.

  7. Oh Thank GOD It’s not a gecko! He’s talk with that accent & offer you low rates on car insurance.

    I’m so happy for you right now.
    Now quick, shoot me (ONLY ME) an email & tell me the sex.

You can say it here.

