SHE WILL BE ZGIRL

I honestly must confess that your comments are the only kind of baby shower anyone could ever hope for. To hear from so many that I haven’t in a while; and the self-proclaimed lurkers; and many I have stalked quietly and add that to you lovelies that willingly humour me routinely on my crappiest of days…Thank You doesn’t quite encapsulate my humble appreciation.

I promise that I’m not sitting around, baby-mooning and neglecting you. In fact, I’ve been dieing to get back on the computer but I have the most ridiculous excuse: my hands. Fortunately I’m enjoying the lovely effects of pain meds that make it tolerable. A good thing, too, because I have much to tell you, and none of it particularly interesting.

Wednesday morning as we prepared leave the house, I hugged XBoy and my mother who was going to stay with him until we called, and headed out the car. Of course, Mr. DD was gathering up things at the last minute (camera, wallet, sunglasses, etc.) and putzing around. As I sat in the car waiting for him, XBoy came out red in the face and teary. I opened the door and he practically fell into my lap. I assumed he had just hurt himself so I began the typical quizzing.

He hadn’t fallen down or smashed a finger or was denied candy by grandma (as if). Instead he was frantic for me not to go. The scene became so bad that Mr. DD had to carry him back into the house and grandma had to hold him back while we quickly backed out the garage and drove away.

It ripped my heart out of my chest…I’ll never forget that moment.

As far as any pre-op stuffity-stuff, all went fairly smooth. The only moment of tension was when the OB nurse warned me that the anesthesiologists have been adamant that the OB surgical cases come back already with a catheter inserted. She encouraged me to hold my ground and request the cath post-spinal.

Sure enough, the anesthetist’s nurse came in and tried to make me feel as if I was wasting their time by not agreeing to the cath before hand, but I didn’t give a shit. If I could get a pap with sedation, I would insist on that, too.

Jump ahead to me numbed and splayed on the OR table. Right before they allowed Mr. DD in, I began to cry. It wasn’t just the months of waiting, it was the years. All leading up to those next few minutes where I would finally meet this other child…which sounds so incredibly selfish, I realize. I felt overwhelmed and so helpless.

Mr. DD joined me and I saw the tears in his eyes as well.

I tried to memorize and file away each moment of the surgery. The anesthesiologist (who was actually very kind) narrated what was happening or what was going to happen. I remember being told that they had started the incision on the uterus and then suddenly I was told the baby’s head was out. I heard everyone exclaim over the amount of hair. I heard suctioning of nasal and oral passages. I heard the cries and suddenly someone said, “It’s a girl!”

And of course, I sobbed anew as my husband leaned over and kissed my forehead and he also cried some more.

We experienced for the first time her temperament as she went from typical newborn mewling and crying to all out banshee-like screaming. I was briefly introduced before she was handed back over to her Dad where I continued to blubber and sob (gotta love those hormones), and then I was stitched back up and taken to recovery while Mr. DD enjoyed those first precious moments.

Wednesday basically passed in a blur – strangely in slow motion – of snap shots, mental and digital, of ZGirl’s arrival.

OK, yes, maybe I have been baby-mooning just a bit. But there’s more to the past few days then these rare moments of peace. More on that later.

49 thoughts on “SHE WILL BE ZGIRL”

  1. The photos, they definitely made me cry. She is just amazing. I couldn’t be happier to come over here and see that you finally made it to this place, my friend. *hugs*

  2. If you weren’t baby-mooning I’d probably want to kick your ass a bit. This moment has been a long time coming. Don’t apologize, don’t delay, go drool over XBoy and the Little Honey.

    You’ve earned it.

  3. Oh my! The hair, the checks, the nose, the chin. She is just so incredibly perfect. I am so happy for you.

    And I can’t wait to hear about X-boy’s reaction.

  4. Now a pregnant and hormonal woman is going to have to explain to her husband why she’s sobbing at her computer…

    xx

    J

  5. omg DD I’m crying over here, so over joyed for all of you! A beautiful baby girl! A beautiful healthy precious little girl!
    Congrats again!
    Hey, when you get a chance e-mail me your addy so I can send lotsa pretty little girly girl clothes your way!

  6. I’m a teary mess after reading that post and seeing those pictures. But, it’s wonderful, just wonderful. And ZGirl is beautiful!

    So happy for you, my friend!

  7. My Lord, she’s beautiful and perfect and precious and …oh I just can’t describe!

    DD, I hope recovery goes well. Congratulations again! I have tears again, just looking at the pictures!

  8. I hope your hands recover. How long does it take for pregnancy-induced carpal tunnel to go away?

    She is seriously beautiful. Re: the long awaited wait being over- its quite an experience, isn’t it?

  9. DD, let’s be honest — usually newborns are pretty funny-looking. But my GOD, your child is the most adorable little creampuff I’ve ever seen!

    A million congrats, dear friend.

  10. Congratulations!

    That seems like such a weak word in your instance. I can’t possibly imagine the overwhelming joy coupled with all the previous torturous years of trying.

    She’s absolutely beautiful!

  11. So happy for you, words just can’t do it justice. She is gorgeous and looks like her daddy already, can I safely say that? 😉 Too late, I did.

    Let me know when you want me to start sending boxes of pink from Wisconsin. Seriously, I have bags and bags just waiting to go to Zgirl.

    Hope everything is going well now that you are home and that X loves her as much as we all do.

  12. I like Z-Girl! What a fabulous internet name for the most adorable baby. You must just love on those cheeks all day.

    I am beyond thrilled for you 🙂

  13. Dammit – some of us are still dealing with the hormones! I don’t like to cry before breakfast.

    She is beautiful – love those cheeks in the last photo. Can’t wait to hear how things are going. Glad the actual day of her arrival went well. I’ve been trying to imagine that day for us and can’t quite wrap my head around it.

  14. ZGirl is such a beautiful baby, and so treasured by many of us across the country and the world. I am happy beyond mere words for all of you. I hope your hands are soon back to normal, and that normal means no lasting carpal tunnel, and that XBoy is learning how great it can be to be a big brother.

  15. She is a beautiful, beautiful baby! Seriously, how come she looks so wonderful when she is a newborn? That just isn’t right : )

    DD, I am so happy, so sososososososo HAPPY for you and your family. How utterly wonderful.

  16. I told you I’d be weepy mess for you.

    I am so very happy for you & Mr DD & Xboy. It has been a long long road my friend. I’m so glad that you’ve finally gotten the outcome that you deserve.

    Much love to all of you.

  17. I’m just jealous that you remember your section…mine is still a total blank because I passed out cold.

    She is beautiful, and I am very glad your wrists are painfree for the moment. Hopefully, now that she is out, they will be painfree going forward. ((Hugs))

  18. What beautiful pictures. Z-Girl is gorgeous, wonderful, perfect.

    Reading this takes me back to those days (which seem so incredibly long ago now) before you were even pregnant with Z-Girl. I can’t begin to tell you how happy I am about the way it all worked out.

  19. And yet again I’m horrified that in the US they won’t let you look over the curtain to see the baby being lifted out. It was gory, yes, but it was wonderful to see Pob just a second or two after H and the doctors did.

    Having said that, it sounds like everything went just as it needed to, and she’s here safely and she is GORGEOUS! Congratulations again.

  20. Congratulations – I have to say you did seem to have been pregnant for EVER and I’m sure it felt more like that to you than anyone else. But she is beautiful.

  21. I am just sitting here crying my eyes out for you. The pic of you and Zgirl… I can’t even put into words how much I *know* how that moment had to have felt for you. The roads you traveled to get there… I am just so happy for you.

  22. Oh, DD, she’s so beautiful I’m tearing up all over again! Thank you for posting again so soon when you’ve obviously got your (painful) hands full. Your description put us all right there — thanks for that…

    Just one thing: “incredibly selfish”??? You’re anything but, my dear — anything but.

    Hope your pain goes away soon. And kiss your beautiful children from me!

  23. I am wildly excited for you, and happy to finally be able to say Congratulations!!! Your daughter is absolutely adorable, and I am SO relieved for you.

    Welcome to the world, Hazel, and good job Momma! I can’t wait to hear how you are all doing, how XBoy is adjusting, etc. You deserve every moment of this wonderful bliss!

You can say it here.

