DISJOINTED

Stupid prioritizing.

Blog or feed/change/feed/feed/change the baby?

And now that I have what I believe will be just a few minutes of “me” time, I don’t know what to write.

Nothing is new here. Mr. DD must be pretty stressed as well as he has not reigned in his temper when it comes to XBoy. XBoy started 1st Grade last week and for the first time in four years, I did not get a picture of him on his first day of school. It makes me feel quite shitty.

We’ve introduced the bottle to ZGirl and she doesn’t do too bad with it except for the fact that quite a bit ends up running out of her mouth. It’s aggravating watching Mr. DD feed her since he props her up on his knees and feeds her that way so she doesn’t get cuddled. Or he lets her lay flat and she gets gassy…it’s like he’s never fed a baby before. I have to busy myself elsewhere to keep from snatching her up and just telling him to piss off.

Because of the milk that gets spilt onto ZGirl, which subsequently pools around her neck and back, she has become the infant poster child for ProActive acne medicine. She’s a virtual pimple field. It’s not purty. I try to keep her cleaned up and dry…alas, I know it’s a stage she will outgrow soon enough.

She has also been giving us brief smiles, which is impressive since XBoy didn’t first smile until he was nearly eight weeks. The first one I got from her was at her five week point. No matter how tired or bitchy or gross I am feeling/looking, that split moment pushes all negativity aside.

I must go. I would like to be dressed for the day sometime before noon, and my teeth are in desperate need of brushing. I’m working on a new page for my blog which will be a way of thanking ZGirl’s generous internet aunts but my computer gets sketchy connection, at best. Loading pictures takes an act of god; however that’s if I get any pictures taken. She’s changing so quickly and I need to hold each and every moment dear as they continue to float away like so many soap bubbles on a summer breeze.

9 thoughts on “DISJOINTED”

  1. Ah, Mr. DD and the non-snuggling feeding.

    There just is not enough time in the day to do what needs to be done. I cannot imagine a second child at this point. Although I crave one.

    Sigh.

  2. Sounds like you are running in the sleep deprived mode.

    My sweetie took awhile to get past the milk everywhere when taking a bottle phase, good luck! (It’s just so fun to try and clean that off a baby’s neck too!)

    I am beginning to think most men just don’t “get it”. LOL Good luck with yours!

    Take care

  3. My husband used to do the same thing when feeding. Of course that’s how we were trained by the NICU – well at least to hold them away from our bodies. But that’s because ours were so small that our body heat would put them to sleep so not eating and not gaining weight. However many many months after coming home, I asked DH why on earth he was still feeding the kiddos that same way when we could FINALLY snuggle them.

    His answer – “They make me sweaty.” Nice real nice. Well at least he wasn’t sweating on my babies!

    Enjoy your shower and fresh breath!

  4. Smack Mr DD for me. What is it about men that they don’t get it? Mine used to do the same thing and like you I had to just walk away because if I said anything all hell would break loose.

    I really hear you on the first day of school photo. I have them from pre-school all the way into highschool when they absolutely refused to “go to the rock” but I was so freaking sad when I couldn’t complete the whole series. Honestly, I was really sad. There were a couple days where we had to “pretend” a few days into the school year that it was the first day . I think it is a part of ourselves that we need to work on….the iamnottheperfectmotherineedtobe fear.

  5. Awww they grow up way too fast, don’t the little boogers? Heck Max got THREE more teeth this week! Gah! Our babies will be in college before we know it! Oh, wait…next year my firstborn WILL be in college!

    WAAAAAAAAA!

    As for the neck rash, nothing but bibs and air will help. Lucas had it terribly, but he did survive. It may be why he’s mean as a striped snake now though, so watch out!

    Hugs…

You can say it here.

