TAKE DOWN

XBoy begged us to let him join the wrestling club at school. We were both very reluctant as his interest in sport activities wanes considerably when he finds out that there’s actual WORK involved. Soccer games were purely opportunities to be outside and chase his buds around. As for that black and white ball we yelled from the sidelines to go after: uh…what black and white ball?

We tried tae kwon do and it frustrated him that he actually had to do other things besides kick the punching bag. The instructor wasn’t much help either as he talked completely over the kids’ heads and if they didn’t get what he was saying? Tough tutus.

I attended the initial wrestling sign-up meeting to find out more and since they only charged if your child wished to compete in a meet, I figured, what the heck.

I took him to his first practice as well. I may has well been 10 feet tall, purple, and with an enormous horn emerging out of my forehead. I was the only Mom. Not only was I the only Mom, I also was the only person lugging about an infant carrier with a pink-encased humanoid as Mr. DD had to work late.

He worked up quite a sweat that first night with lots of running and drills. It was not his smartest choice in wearing a long-sleeved t-shirt and sweats.

Mr. DD had the privilege of taking him to his next practice. He said that towards the end, they paired the boys up and XBoy was quickly handed his own butt to him on a platter. When he came home, he told us he didn’t want to compete in the tourney coming up that weekend.

Saturday morning was when we were informed about my dad’s accident and didn’t make an attempt to get XBoy to the meet. It wasn’t until we announced that we would stop by the hospital first and then to the tourney did he get upset. Suddenly, he wants to compete! Arrrgh.

He made it to the subsequent practices and this time told us that he wanted to compete in the next meet. We acquired some used wrestling shoes, encased him in the school’s singlet, and off we went.

XBoy last exactly 13 seconds in his first match.

By his 4th match, he actually scored a couple of points for one escape (don’t worry if you have no idea how greco wrestling scores since I am only repeating what my husband told me – I am COMPLETELY clueless). Not bad considering his 3rd match left him in tears.

So he’s not a natural. We knew that and have absolutely no grand expectations from XBoy in this endeavor. He’s learning something he desperately lacks: physical control. If he doesn’t want to compete? That’s fine, too, but he will continue going to practice until the coaches tell us that XBoy is too much of a pain in the ass (hey, it could happen), or when the season is over.

He may be the worst wrestler in the school, but we hope by the end of the season he finds himself in a match with another uncoordinated boy who happens to the be the worst on HIS team and XBoy actually wins a match…but I ain’t going to hold my breath.

6 thoughts on “TAKE DOWN”

  1. We always encouraged our boys to try new sports..we never knew which one we would end up sticking with but they each found their niche.

    Wrestling is really popular where we live but it is the one sport that I prayed none of them wanted to do. I can’t ever seem to get the appearance of disgust off my face when I am watching it. All I can think of is sweat and ringworm 🙂

  2. He’s also learning perseverance…he’s been through several matches and wants to keep going to practice and competing.

    And really, where else do you get to wear a singlet?

  3. I went to a few wrestling matches when Iwas in high school. Never really got the hang of how they scored, but our team was really good.

    Good for X-boy wanting to do this.

  4. Pingback: TAKE DOWN
  5. Graeco Roman wrestling? Now thats something we just don’t have here. I thought it was big in Bulgaria and assorted -stans but not the US. I learn a new thing everyday!

    1. Let me amend that a bit: it’s not ALL greco. Technically, it’s called “collegiate”, but that doesn’t give te visual I wanted. I just wanted to make sure you weren’t picturing my son smashing a chair over a mate’s head or shouting, “Can you smell what the Rock is cooking?!!”

You can say it here.

