NO THANK YOU, DR RUTLEDGE

Occasionally I do get hit up for reviews and ads on my blog from outside sources. Today I got one from Wellsphere.

A very flattering, yet strangely canned, email from Dr. Geoff Rutledge on how they wanted my blog content to be part of their HealthBlogger Network at wellsphere.com. I’m naturally dubious of these requests but this one immediately made me go “huh??” when I read this in the first paragraph:

We carefully reviewed your blog, and based on the high quality of your writing, the frequency of your posts, and your passion for helping others, we think you would be a great addition to the Network.

Uh…ok.

And…HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHahahahahaha!

I did check out the website (dull) and from there I googled, “what’s up with wellsphere” and that brought me an article titled, “How the Blogosphere was Scammed.” That doesn’t bode well, does it?

I can only guess that some of you would have received the same email since scammers hunt in packs. If you did, my advice to you is to think twice about it and make sure you read the article about scams. My posts may be shit, but they are MY shit.

13 thoughts on “NO THANK YOU, DR RUTLEDGE”

  1. I got that comment also. At first I was all “how cool”, then I actually thought about it. Why would I want to do that? What compensation would I get? What is the company? The answer was only a couple of clicks away. Thank you for writing about it.

    Here from LFCA

  2. Thanks so much for clearing this up – I was weirded out by the ‘invitation’ on my blog which showed up yesterday, and now I feel much more informed about saying no. Hell, no.

  3. Thanks for the reminder. I just stopped by the site and discovered they had been stealing my blog content and were reposting all of it starting in January under a fake account — after I turned them down last Fall. Just copied the WSJ reporter who reported their scams in my note to Rutledge demanding that he remove my information from his site once and for all. Shithead, he’s just a total shithead.

  4. Here from LFCA. Thanks for the info. I had received several e-mails from them also and while I was skeptical and had never responded now I’m sure I’m not interested.

  5. Thank you so much for this info. I have been getting spammed with the same email. And, like you, my red flag when up with the “high quality of your writing.” Puh-leez. My thoughts aren’t even high quality.

    Thanks again . . .

  6. I got the same, I just spammed it!

    I also got the one from the woman doing research from woman who have miscarried in the last 6 months and who live in the US! Its doing the rounds too, she really read my blog didn’t she!!!

  7. I also got this and entered into a discussion about it in which they assured me I would retain copyright – as I am wary of this because of copyright issues at work. If anyone has actually used my RSS feed (which, of course, I couldn’t really prevent) I have that to back anything up.

  8. I got the same note a few months ago. Perhaps it’s the skeptic in me, but I’m done even trying to bother Googling these types of requests. I 86 ’em.

You can say it here.

