Bottles Up

I’m pretty sure that by the time my son was 15 mos old, we had him completely weaned from the bottle. Completely. Not even before bedtime.

The reason I tell you this is because I’m sitting here right now in front of my laptop while my daughter is next to me on the couch having a bottle. It’s not her only one, either. She has one first thing in the morning and two, sometimes three, during the rest of the day.

Of course it’s easier than sippy cups. I don’t care what the packaging says, those damn cups all leak. So do bottles for that matter, but I will get about 15 minutes of pure blissful silence when she has a bottle. The only thing I ever hear when she has a bottle is the gasps for air in between sucks. A cup she drinks from, a couple of swallows, and then off she goes to play. Lord knows where that stupid sippy cup goes in the mean time.

Is it laziness? Maybe I’m clinging to that last remnant of babydom. Except for diapers…

Some mothers nurse their babies until they are two or three? Why can’t she have a bottle until she’s 18 months? Plus, she says ba-ba. She doesn’t say cu.

And my 15 minutes of silence is just about up. Now hit me: should I cut her cold turkey at this point or keep trying to fade one bottle at a time out of her schedule?

19 thoughts on “Bottles Up”

  1. cool digs sweetie!

    little D. is 19 months and still uses a bottle to drink his milk, the rest (water, juices etc) is out of a cup (sippy or a normal cup).

    he associates his milk, which I’m a great advocate of until at least five or six years old, calcium and all that, with his bottle so like lala, if I force him to drink it out of a cup he may stop altogether like his sister did.

    Every kid’s different, but keep this fact in mind.

    Anyways, I dont believe its lazy at all… and if it is? Personally I couldn’t care less!

  2. Ummmm, Will was over 2 when I finally had enough of the bottle-washing stuff. He only had one at night, so I didn’t think it was all that bad. One night he asked for his bottle, and I said, “Not right now, In a little while”. He fell asleep without it & that was that.

  3. This is a tough one since Myles never took a bottle, I felt really lucky that we never had to deal with giving it up. He’s two and a half and still gets a pacifier when he sleeps though and god knows how long it’s going to take to get rid of that.

    In my very humble opinion, it doesn’t matter at this point if you take the bottle away now or later. It’s her comfort object and it’s going to be hell for both of you for a little while. Why not wait a bit longer until she can (sort of) be reasoned with?

    On the other hand my sister in law’s daughter is three and a half and still takes a bottle before bed and I can’t help but feel a little icky about that.

  4. Ok. Don’t shoot me, but Pob still has 2 bottles a day – first thing in the am and before bed (before brushing teeth). We moved her to a cup a while back and she just asked for ‘normal bottle please’ after a couple of days. I see no reason to deny her a comfort object until she’s ready to give it up and as far as I can tell there is no reason to. So I say, your daughter can keep going as long as she likes!

  5. I am in the same boat. Finn is still on the bottle & he is two. He will punch the sippy cup away if we try to give it to him during his morning routine. The pediatrician said to create a ceremony of sorts letting him help throw the bottles away so he can see “no more bottle” literally. I will be working hard at this in the next two months, but I will probably miss that bottle more than he will. Good luck with your daughter.

  6. It sounds like you want to do it slowly, if not at all right now. Enjoy the silence while you can!! I, on the other hand, cannot wait to switch Bryce to a cup (he has one now when he is in the high chair). I HATE washing bottles, nipples, and the rings. I want the space back on my counter where the bottle dryer is. I can’t wait to throw all of them away!!

  7. I was a “gradual” momma… everything was done gradually with my daughter. It was a LOT less traumatic. And I kept cups at the table. If she was done with the cup- she could leave, but the cup stayed. She could come BACK to the cup- but she had to STAY at the table with the cup.

    For us, the “good morning” bottle was the hardest to let go of. Fighting with a little one first thing in the morning while attempting to get ready for school myself (and being a single mom with NO help) was just more than I could handle…

    Do what works for you, and for her- some fights just aren’t worth having and other peoples’ opinions be damned!!

  8. Don’t have any experience with this (yet), but I say if your daughter isn’t ready to let go of the bottle yet then the gradual one bottle at a time might work better. For her and for you.

  9. We eliminated Sam’s bottles one at a time at around 13 months. He held his own bottles and would turn them upside down and water the carpet so we had to go to sippy cups. I woudl have kept them for longer but that kid…I swear, he was built for destruction. We went to sippy cups pretty much cold turkey and while he fussed mildly for the first few days, by day three he was pretty much acclimated. I miss the silences and the stillness, though. 😦 And the cuddles. [pBottome line, I’d go for it gradually. You can enjoy all the benfits longer that way. πŸ™‚

  10. The twins are nearing their 1st birthday and I haven’t had much luck with sippy cups yet. I like rocking the girls and using the bottles for bedtime — I didn’t breastfeed and this is a big bonding point for me — and yeah, it’s probably causing part of the sleeping problems, but they are only so little and cuddly for a short time.

  11. I can beat that–BG was 2 years 2 months old when we finally got rid of bottles. And frankly, she would have happily kept going if we hadn’t pushed it, which I only did because we used drop-ins and I was tired of spending money on those stupid liners. She didn’t even hold her own bottle, either–she had to be cuddled with us holding it. It really didn’t bother me, honestly. Like you said, some kids nurse until that age, so why not bottle? And once she got off the bottle she hardly ever drank milk again–never really took to milk in a cup.

    If you want to wean her I vote for dropping one bottle at a time. Why rush it, if it doesn’t bother you?

  12. Hey,
    M was over 18 months when we finally eliminated the bottle. When she went in for her 18 month appointment and the little update sheet that the doc gave us said that by 18 months the baby should be totally off the bottle, I figured it was time to start. πŸ˜‰ She was fine but I just thought the evening routine of dinner, bath, jammies and then “BAA BAA!!!”, that said as if she was a survivor of a plane crash, stranded in the wilds with nothing but bugs to eat being offered a cheeseburger. It was just too cute for me to give that up. She is off them now and boy was the kidney function poor for the first few weeks after giving up that known volume of liquid everyday. Also, very stinky. πŸ˜‰ So you are actually benefitting her kidney and bladder function by keeping the bottles around.

    Oh, and check out my new blog which I also very rarely post to these days but started as something more fun to talk about then my lame husband and his family. πŸ˜‰

  13. You know what, I distinctly remember having a bottle at night for a LONG time. I think I was around Joey’s age when I final gave it up and I have perfectly good teeth and don’t think it damaged me mentally in any way. She will get the hang of sippy cups etc. when she is ready. I think there is too much pressure out there these days to make us make our babies “grow up” too fast. We all learn how to do everything eventually, I don’t think there is any harm in her having a bottle when she wants one. As you say, many of us continued to BF until our kids were much older (Joey was 23.5 months when he finally weaned) so why is that fine but having a bottle until then isn’t?!

  14. My daughter weaned herself from the boob at around 9-10 months, but I kept pushing it on her until we could hit the vaunted 1 year switch to cow’s milk. She didn’t care whether or not she had a bottle. Mom was the comfort thing, and then she didn’t care much about that either. I love that kid – she was totally easy.

    I don’t know why I torture myself with thoughts of having another one (it’s looking less likely every day, and it bums me out). I would totally get a colicky non-sleeper who learned to climb out of his/her crib at 12 months, wanted a pacifier and refused to give it up, would refuse to ever use a sippy cup, and would never potty train. She is the ultimate lesson in being thankful for what you have. Whew…that was a little off topic…

  15. My almost 14 month old still gets a bottle at night. He is still taking 8 oz too. I’ll wean him eventually but for now he still seems to need it. Besides, with cups he takes a sip and then he dribbles most of the milk out of his mouth, onto his neck. Gross.

  16. Sabrina was completely off bottles by 13 months. I was sure I was a bad mother if I didn’t get her on sippy cups asap. Tessa? is approaching 15 months and still drinks from bottles almost exclusively. It isn’t only laziness (although that plays a large part). I also like that last piece of baby-hood. She is growing up so damned fast. But also has been on the low end of things weight wise and those are guaranteed calories. A sippy cup never gets even close to empty but she sucks those bottles dry. So I’m all about doing what works for you.

  17. My nickel’s worth:
    One day I just took Katherine off the bottle except for her night time bottle. We did this for a month or so until her one year dr appt and he told me to get rid of it. She took straight away to the cups so we have stuck with it. If it had caused problems I would have let her have bottles longer.

    Do what works best for you. If this is how you get fifteen minutes of peace, why rush letting that go?

You can say it here.

