#10 – Feedback on Feedback

I saw personalized zipper pulls on Try Handmade  that can hook onto your kid’s backpack or jacket and I thought they were a great idea. I contacted the etsy shop owner, let her know that I wanted our last name (so some weirdo won’t find my son’s jacket and call him by his first name…) and my cell phone number on a couple of pulls.

Within a week, I received them in the mail and added one to Aitch’s jacket and one to Doodicus’ jacket.

A week later, I found the Aitch’s pull in her car seat. Because they were made using a simple single metal loop (imagine the ends of a C squeezed together), it had worked itself open just enough for the thin medal to come off.

I went to Hobby Lobby and for a couple of dollars, I had a package of double loops, which are designed like a key ring, and I replaced the single loops in both the pulls. Now I know that if I forget to remove them before I throw the jackets in the wash, they have a better chance of coming out still intact.

Recently I was in my etsy account and saw that I still needed to post feedback for the shop owner. I’ve been dissatisfied in the past with a couple of previously purchased items from other shops, but have never bothered to provide feedback. This time, while I wasn’t wholly dissatisfied, I felt that my neutral feedback would be an opportunity to share how she could improve the product with a double- or even triple-loop ring.

So that’s what I did.

Within the day, I got an email back from her apologetic over my lack of 100% satisfaction, but passively noted how I could have returned the items for her to fix (which I was able to do on my own in a couple of minutes and for pennies). She told me how no one has ever lost a pull before (I find that impossible to believe. I just doubt anyone said anything and they just keep using a pair of needle-nose pliers to pinch the ends together repeatedly or their tags got lost and well…not much you can do about it then, is there?). She told me how important her feedback was to her and that she would happily refund my entire purchase price, just so I would change my feedback from neutral to positive.

I don’t want a refund. I didn’t pay much for them, and obviously, I got what I paid for. Overall, they met my needs; they just didn’t meet my standards. I altered them so that they would. For me, the issue should be over. It would seem that while she’s offering a full refund, she has not (to date) so it’s starting to feel like a payoff: you give me positive feedback and I’ll pay you for it. I subconsciously squirm in my seat with the idea.

I’ve never seen anything BUT 100% positive in any of the stores I’ve shopped. Have you ever given poor or neutral feedback on an etsy purchase? Would you change your feedback if you were me?

8 thoughts on “#10 – Feedback on Feedback”

  1. Obviously, it matters a lot to the seller, but I think your point is valid.

    If it were me, I wouldn’t want the money back either, and I wouldn’t want to feel pressured into changing my feedback by $$, like it seems. But perhaps the seller was just a bit awkward with their wording?

    Gut answer is I’d leave it as is.

    g

  2. Having been a seller on Etsy for a few years, I will say that positive feedback on Etsy is worth EVERYTHING to the shop keeper. Way more than eBay. It sucks that you can’t leave a neutral feedback for what should be neutral, but it’s the way the community has developed. Most other Etsiers I know will definitely NOT buy from a shop that has a neutral feedback rating, even just one among thousands.

    Do I think you should change your feedback? Eh. It’s up to you. I might change it to positive while noting the reasons for the change (the shop keeper was willing to go above and beyond), but that’s me, from a seller’s standpoint.

  3. We sold a hard drive on ebay a few weeks ago for .99 plus shipping. It was used, tested and formatted with no errors. We made NO money on this obviously and apparently it arrived not working … which can happen, though it’s about the 10th we’ve sold and it was the first time we had a non-worker. Anyway – the dude didn’t leave feedback, which is really the only way we know if something arrived ok so I contacted him. He said he didn’t leave feedback because it didn’t work and since he only paid .99 plus postage he figured screw it. Well that bothered me because it was working when it left here and he opted not to take insurance on it. (For a .99 cent item, I probably wouldn’t have either.) We offered him another at no charge if he wanted to pay postage. He said no and left me positive feedback that said my customer service was awesome. I still feel bad and I may refund the .99. You can’t win for loosing, you know?

  4. Huh, your feedback was that the product wasn’t totally awesome in every way, which remains the case. But it was cheap, and easy to fix. I don’t know how etsy works. Do you give feedback separately on the product and the customer service or what? If not, I’d write a really detailed feedback and change the feedback. In your comment you would still make clear the product’s problems which is what would be helpful to other buyers.

    Actually what I’d really do is just drop the whole thing at this point.

  5. I don’t shop Etsy, but I’m sure the feedback is similar to eBay, where the buyers rely on the information to determine whether or not they want to spend their money with a particular seller. It seems to address the honesty and reliability of the seller.

    It’s hard to say whether your feedback should address the quality of the product or the customer service of the seller, but negative or neutral feedback can be damaging to a seller. Neutral isn’t really neutral…it’s negative, but you didn’t get into an email screaming match with the seller. That’s what negative is for.

    So, I would say that you could refuse the refund, change the rating (if you’re comfortable) to positive, but note that the seller’s product could use improvement, although her customer service was good.

  6. The details of this sound less smarmy than the short version on FB. I would make the feedback favorable and say that you had an issue but the seller was eager to make you happy. Which, really, is all she can do.

You can say it here.

