#21 – Hit me over the head with a frozen drumstick, please.

My sisters asked if I would host Thanksgiving at my house next Saturday. They said that it will make things easier for mom. I think it’s because the menfolk like that we have satellite whereas my mom and dad have a TV that plugs into a wall and all four channels get their programming from the antenna on top of the house that doubles as a lightning rod.

But I don’t mind. Really.

However, Sparring Partner thinks it’d be really nice if we play host to HIS family on Thursday. I don’t want to. For MY family, we are doing potluck. Mom’s cooking the turkey and bringing it over. For HIS family, we will have to do everything, and I am a horrible cook. Seriously. I’m so bad that one of the reasons I DON’T want to become a stay at home mom is because then I would be expected to prepare supper, and that does not mean having the oven preheated for the ready-made pizza Sparring Partner picks up on his way home.

Plus, the house is a disaster area. Yes, yes, we all complain about messy houses, but while my messy house is perfectly fine for MY family, it does not meet the muster of the in-laws since both my SIL and MIL employ cleaning services (which really?? My SIL and her husband live alone in their house and she works part time…WTF do they need a cleaning lady for?).

So the deal I struck with Sparring Partner is this: this weekend we will clean and pick up (which we normally do on the weekends), but the kicker is that the house will need to stay neat and tidy until Thursday because I have to work Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday and I won’t have time Thursday to make the house presentable, much less prepare a Thanksgiving meal for HIS family. If the house does NOT stay neat and tidy, we will not host dinner for HIS family.

I don’t think I’ll even bother to make a grocery list.

However, if you would like to share one of your really easy recipes for a side dish, I’d be forever in your debt!

8 thoughts on “#21 – Hit me over the head with a frozen drumstick, please.”

  1. Eeps. Good luck! I’m all about easy sides. Steamed veggies (carrots, zucchini, squash, and broccoli) with some lemon butter that you can make to taste–melted butter and lemon juice–and a little salt & pepper.

  2. Open can of Yams/sweet potatoes. Pour into microwaveable dish. Heat. Serve.

    It’s my favorite recipe, as I don’t eat that nasty stuff!

    Hope you have a great Thanksgiving – with our without the in-laws!

  3. I’m with you on the cooking thing. I can’t cook to save my life. In fact when I started dating again that was in my profile. Can not cook… if you’re looking for that… you got the wrong girl. 🙂

  4. Pre-made stuff dear. There is a recipe for 3-day mashed potatoes, that yes, you can make tomorrow.

    Stuffing…buy the box then chop up an onion and celery in biggish pieces, brown/soften it in butter, add it to the boxed stuffing and bake it….. everyone will think you made the whole thing from scratch.

    Did you know that they put gravy in cans now? Use it. But throw away the cans before anyone sees them. Add a couple big spoons of your turkey juice and it’s home-made baby!

    I have dozens more great, lazy cook recipes that people rave about and always ask me “why is yours better than mine?”…..Cuz I cheat suckas.

  5. Yeah, I do not claim to be a cook. I do package stuffing and follow the directions. I steam green beans (we have a steamer) and if I am feeling fancy I put in some onion. Regular old mashed potatoes. That is all that I have done. I’m sorry they won’t help and bring something. Every time I have hosted, family members have brought SOMETHING.

    And really?? She works part time and has a cleaning lady????? WTF!!

  6. Roasted vegetables are very easy and tasty. My favorites are asparagus and zucchini/yellow squash.

    For asparagus, be sure to cut off the ends. Lay the stalks out on a cookie sheet, brush with a mixture of olive oil and crushed garlic (how much garlic depends on your tastes and how much asparagus you have). You don’t want the aspragus dripping in olive oil, but it should be well coated. Sprinkle salt on top (kosher or coarse ground being the best, but regular salt is fine if that’s what you have). 20 minutes in the oven at 400º. When served, top with a small amount of balsamic vinegar.

    For the squash medley, cut the zuchinni and yellow squash into rounds, then toss in a bowl with olive oil, crushed garlic, paprika and Italian seasoning. Bake in a 13×9 pyrex for 20 minutes at 350º and then top with parmesan cheese when it comes out of the oven.

    Good luck to you!

  7. So, we are doing Thanksgiving here as well. I started hosting about 7 years ago, and got stuck with the job because no one else wants it. The bonus is both sides of our family converge here, so no one is left out unless they want to go to extended family. The fly in the ointment this year is the recent death in the family. My parents are still in Florida. I have other relatives on notice that they might need to bring… oh, the turkey for instance.

    I do have a nifty (EASY) recipe for a side! Southern Style Green Beans. Buy as many can of green beans to suit your crowd. Toss them in a crockpot with 1/2 diced onion, one package of diced ham, and lots of pepper. Put in just enough water for sloshing (not too much or the green beans go flat tasting). That’s it. Cook ’em 4 hours or longer.

You can say it here.

