Last, This and Next

This past weekend, Sparring Partner came up with a raging case of the Man Flu complete with migraines and what my dear sweet mother refers to as The Trots. Not sure why it’s The Trots. Maybe because it’s slower than The Runs? Yeah, no clue. My mother also is the one who says “WalMarts” and “cousints” and told us kids to “Go jump off a bridge!” or “Go lay an egg!” when we were driving her insane. Which is a bit of a mind-fuck since we did indeed have a bridge on the lane and of course, we had chickens.

I just figured this Man Flu was just Sparring Partner’s way of getting out of doing anything about the house because he always seems to have some degree of it on the weekends. Therefore his moaning and groaning about what little sunlight there was piercing his delicate brain through the windows, and his infinite trips to the bathroom, were really just par for the course.

Even when Aitch threw out a couple of diapers that emitted the kind of fumes that would strip car paint, did I really believe anything was up.

Well, lo and behold, Monday night my own plumbing started working overtime.

And really? That’s all I need to say about that.

Sparring Partner and I have this running (no pun intended) argument about what is considered “this” or “last” or “next” when it comes to days in the week.

For example, when I talk about THIS weekend (with today being the 24th), I’m referring to the 27-28th. That would make NEXT weekend March 6-7th and LAST weekend the 20-21st.

On the other hand, Sparring Partner, refers to THIS weekend as the one that’s past and NEXT weekend is the one just coming up (27-28th). LAST weekend then ends up being the 13-14th.

Well? Which weekend do you consider as LAST, THIS or NEXT?

17 thoughts on “Last, This and Next”

  1. Your way of course. SP’s way sort of makes sense if you are speaking on Monday or Tuesday but Wednesday is the tipping point where it no longer makes sense. And his version of last weekend never makes sense. Sorry SP.

  2. Sorry for the broken plumbing…

    I use this weekend and next weekend interchangeably, depending on which day of the week it is (i.e. if it’s after Wednesday, it’s this weekend. If it’s before Wednesday, it’s next weekend). Sometimes it’s this past weekend. Sometimes it’s last weekend. Just don’t even bother trying to understand it and ask me what date I’m talking about!

  3. I hope your plumbing troubles work themselves out soon. I think “the trots” must be a midwestern saying because my SIL says it. 🙂

    Anyway, I agree with your version of weekend phrasing. But I do often have to clarify “this past weekend” if someone doesn’t get it. It’s clear as day to me!

  4. sorry about your purging 😦 I’m with you on next/this/last. I think SP is in the minority here – last weekend being two weekends ago just doesn’t sit right with me. Merriam Webster says “3 a : next before the present : most recent “. Most recent = your definition. Gotta love this working at home thing. More commenting! 🙂

  5. Your version of LAST/THIS/NEXT is the one I go by. Sometimes if it’s early in the week and I want to talk about LAST weekend, I’ll say THIS PAST weekend to try to help people who aren’t on our system. Or I’ll throw out “the weekend COMING UP” for those who don’t get the NEXT connotation.

    Now you two need to figure out how much is meant by: a couple, a few, several, and some!

You can say it here.

