The Siblingmoon is Still Full

Pardon my rant from yesterday. It’s been a while since I went off and called someone a cuntface. Can I blame PMS? How about this damn weather? God bless anyone who lives above the South Dakota border year-round. Let’s talk of happier topics.

I posted a couple weeks ago about our daycare. We did introduce Aitch slowly to the new staff by picking her up when we picked up Doodicus from school and dropping them both off at the same time. The first day, Aitch sat in Doodicus’s lap the entire two hours they were there (except when, according to Doodicus, he couldn’t hold it any longer and HAD to go pee). And that was the way we found them that first day: Doodicus on a chair watching a movie with the other kids and Aitch on his lap generating so much heat, you’d swear they’d been fused together.

One of the staff there kindly pointed out that our (I’ll take the blame here – MY) decision to do the change gradually was probably harder on Aitch because when one of us picked her up, in her head she believed she was going home. So when she found herself among strangers, she was not only scared but confused.

We are starting her third full week now at the new daycare. She knows which cubby is hers and as soon as her coat is off, SHE is off, looking for the staff for a cuddle, juice, snack or toy, it doesn’t matter. She’s happy. And I’m happy.

Right now Doodicus doesn’t see much of her even though they are at the same place. As soon as he’s dropped off, they take the school-aged kids over to the nearby school gym to play (in cold weather) or to the large fenced in play ground. This summer they will spend much more time together there, which will thrill her to no end. That girl loves her brother.

This weekend, at Mass, the church was standing room only. I was able to take Aitch and squeeze a cheek on the end of a pew. That left Sparring Partner and a very unhappy Doodicus standing in the back. When Aitch saw Doodicus go up with an offering (children are invited up to give their money to Father), she screamed his name in excitement and reached for him as he went by.

I wonder how long this siblingmoon phase will last.

We’re so very lucky that there even is one.

7 thoughts on “The Siblingmoon is Still Full”

  1. My oldest and youngest are 6 years apart and they have grown to be great buds. The older dispensing advice and the younger hanging on every word. (not to say there weren’t times when they TOTALLY ignored each other).

    I think it comes and goes, but gets even better with age. Kinda like the cheese I could use right now.

  2. Better video tape the love now, in case it doesn’t last forever!

    I would have said the same thing about the daycare transition. I can’t go to any of the activities that they have for parents and kids, because I know my girl will assume that it’s the end of her day, and would be pissed if I didn’t take her with me.

  3. Marjorie(2) adores Alex(16) and he adores her. I was worried how that was going to work out but he just can’t not smile or give her a hug when he hears her squeaking his name or bossing him around. 😉

  4. Awww. I love that they’re crazy about each other, and I’m so glad Aitch likes her new daycare. Interesting about the transition problems — I would have done the same thing you did, but the explanation that that teacher gave makes a lot of sense. Live and learn!

  5. Maggie & Will were good friends until Will turned 3. He’s so mean to her. Steals her stuff, pushes her out of the way, he always has to be FIRST!! In the door, out the door, at bathtime, whatever. If Will doesn’t go first, there is a snotty tearful mess. Poor Mags, has to wait until he goes to bed (first) until I can help her shower, get her jammies on, brush her hair and THEN we can snuggle in her bed for a few minutes in peace and talk about her day. She’s even taken to playing with her toys in her room with the door shut just for some “alone time”.
    They still love each other fiercely. Maggie has even told one of her friends to leave the house when Will interrupted their game & Kayla yelled at Will to “LEAVE US ALONE!!” So the love is there, just not allll the time.

  6. Well, my kids are fantastic friends and it’s been 5 years now. There are, of course, issues every now and then, but honestly nothing ongoing or a big deal. My girls can bring tears to my eyes with the way they interact; they love each other so much. Oh, they’re 6 years, 5 days apart so similar to what you have.

You can say it here.

