No Fence Can Be Built Tall Enough To Make Us Better Neighbors

When I lost my job (OVER A FUCKING YEAR AGO!), the only positive thought I had is that at least I’m not that VP who also lost her job and will have to sell her house and move to find ANYTHING even close to her prior salary or position. I knew I’d have to start at the bottom again because there’s no way we would or could move. I’ve done it before and can do it again.

That being said, I am SO over looking on job websites and newspapers and sending out resume after resume with only a smattering of responses that always say, “Upon review of your resume…blahblahblah….we have already filled the position….blahblahblah…” so fuck off. Oh. That’s me, not them.

I had submitted a resume to a large, local company via an email a few weeks ago. Almost immediately I got a rejection email back. The position had been filled. Do-wa-ditty-ditty-dum-ditty-do.

But last week I thought I caught a break when I had a voicemail message from the company’s HR department letting me know another position had opened up and I was instructed to complete their company’s app, which I did immediately the next day. Within 24 hours, I had an email from the HR person requesting an interview. I was seriously pumped.

Today I had the interview. Kind of. Actually, I sat across from one of their HR people and verified what I did and have done and then took their typing and 10-key test (with most excellent results – thank you). The rep then told me that the next step would be her presenting my resume to her boss, Mrs. Jung.

What? You don’t remember the infamous Mrs. Jung??

Our neighbor whose building permit I protested in public?

Our neighbor who absconded Aitch’s personalized birth day gift because it was mailed in error to her home?

Yah….

I better go. Looks like I’ll be sending out more resumes.

Ugh. Just one more disadvantage to small town living.

24 thoughts on “No Fence Can Be Built Tall Enough To Make Us Better Neighbors”

  1. Oh shit. I had to go back and reread the original post.

    Living in a small town too, I can completely feel your pain. My husband (in his job) has pissed off a lot of people, and sadly our kids pay the price with not being included in certain events, etc. It sucks big balls.

    But, the fact that giftstealer would be the boss…..sweetie, they couldn’t possibly pay you enough to save your sanity there.

    BTW….do you know what flash programming is? Just curious cuz I know of a company that is hiring…don’t know if they would do long distance or not, but I thought of you.

  2. Dude, you are SOOOO getting that job, so she can finally have you at her mercy!!!! My question is, will it be worth the pain? Does it pay enough? Is it close to home? I can’t wait to hear more!

  3. That is the bullshit of all bullshit! Maybe she isn’t quite the twatwaffle professionally that she is personally? (I don’t really think so, either, but devil’s advocate and all that…)

  4. Only you my dear, only you. Ok, that is something that would happen to me too. 😉 Good luck and you are just way to qualified for all those jobs so they figure you won’t stick around long if they do hire you.

  5. Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit. That sucks, in the most spectacularly the-universe-says-screw-you kind of way. I’m so sorry you’re not catching any breaks…

    Hug?

  6. Oh eff. That sucks – I’m sorry. I used to live in a small town too…my dad was a loud mouthed defense lawyer who people either loved or hated. I pissed off a lot of cops and lawyers in my job. I had to move. LOL

You can say it here.

