FIVE

This coming week marks my 5th Anniversary in blogging. Yes, there’s actually over four years of this shit at another blog site for those you who are new here (which I seriously doubt). I started with BlogSpot, moved to TypePad, and then finally WordPress. I’ve changed my blog’s name *counting on fingers* FOUR times! In hind site, that’s kinda stupid. Think long and hard when creating a blog, you newbies out there. No one buys into that “Now with a New Look!” bullshit.

In that time, I’ve made a lot of friends via the internet. But I’ve also pissed off a decent share. I know that. I’m not proud of it, either. Really. My problem? It really all comes down to something very simple and basic: Jealousy. I am envious of just about every blogger I read. It doesn’t really matter about what, because I’m that cow on the other side of the fence eyeballing your yard when mine really is just fine, all things considering.

I intentionally shut out those that are uber-popular because I figure they’ll never notice I’m gone. And even if your blog isn’t what you think of as uber-popular, I’m jealous of how well you write; how funny your stories are; how happy you are in your marriage; how smart and attentive your children are; and how you seem to have time to relax with your family, take gorgeous pictures and post them to your blog because even your web access seems to surpass mine.

But I don’t want to feel like that anymore. It’s made me lose touch with some really great people, and with that I’ve lost out on some wonderful stories. I use to click over to a blog when someone gushed about it. Now? I just do the equivalent of stomping off in the other direction and pretend I don’t care. Again, who am I really hurting here, but me.

So in honor of my 5th Anniversary of blogging, I’m going to try to recover those feelings I had when I first started blogging and there was a world in front of me to explore. When I read a post that I find interesting and I click over from my feed and see 75 other comments, I will still leave my own, even if it’s a repeat of 74 of the other comments. I will try to be a better friend, both IRL and on-line. I’m tired of feeling resentful. If I’ve hurt your feelings and you’re still here, I’m sorry. Really. And if you wonder if I’m referring to YOU…I probably am.

22 thoughts on “FIVE”

  1. (Catching up after vacation)
    I started thinking about the blogs I read and with the exception of 1 person who I feel a little sorry for, I’m jealous or envious of something about most bloggers I read. You? Have a fabulous house and a quick wit and the balls to tell the world you are pissed off about things instead of being mary-sunshine.

  2. I also think of you as uber-popular. And my blogging and commenting habits are noticably sub-par too, but you do what you can do!

    I’ll keep reading your blog as long as I’m reading blogs. Happy to be here!

  3. You know, I think that you did what you did because you needed to. Besides it is in the unchangeable past!

    The people who are here like you for who you are and like how you write. Just keep on keeping on.

    Thanks

  4. Happy Blogiversary! I know I’ve said this to you before, but I’ll say it again. You can’t shake me no matter how many times you change blog hosts and no matter what you say. I am your stalker for life.

  5. For what it’s worth…..I luvvvvv the new look. ;-}

    And, I look forward to your stories, so there! Who knows, you may inspire this neglectful blogger to dust off the ol’ link…….

  6. Happy Blogoversary! Wow, five years?! Hardly seems like it.
    I don’t think you have ever bothered me, hurt me, or just in general pissed me off. In fact you are one of two blogs that I. Must. Read. That has never done that. I will go further and say that I don’t think there has even been a post you have written where I said, Oh for crying out loud.
    You tell it like it is, no promises to stay ‘nice’. I really like that about you and your writing. I don’t think you’ll ever lose me as a reader. Unless you tell me my kids are ugly ;).
    Rock on girl! Anybody who buys Jesus band-aids is alright in my book :).

  7. P.S. FIVE years? I actually think I might not be that far away from that either which just doesn’t seem possible somehow. didn’t we just start this a few months ago?

  8. I’ve been a horrible blog friend; these days I barely read anyone. I am so sorry. I just feel overwhelmed with all that’s present in my life…I don’t think I can handle as much online as I used to be able to do.

    Congrats on five years! That is a lot of writing. And I am so glad we met through the net…you’re one of the people I’m hanging onto.

    xoxo
    Flicka

  9. Happy blogoversary. (And funny, I started mine 5 years ago in August too!)

    FWIW, you’ve never hurt my feelings, either. I will be reading in 5 more years. That’s how scary stalker-ish I am. 🙂

    xoxo

  10. I have issues with mega popular blogs too. I always feel like my comments are dust in the wind, that they either aren’t read or the blogger doesn’t care because they never replied or checked out my blog…

    Thanks for you comment on my latest post. Great food for thought. I respect your opinion.

  11. You know what’s funny- You are one of the uber-popular bloggers. When I was blogging, you were one of the It Girls. I’m now worried you are going to get all nice and sappy when the Dawn I love is the one who calls it like it is. He He. Just plan your next blogger visit to Cali. It’ll make me have to clean my house! There is always a bed here for you.

You can say it here.

