Prego

Started another temp job today. Go me.

While the work itself will be duller than dishwater, my fellow temp-employees should be fodderrific!

Today was training so when I arrived with the other newbies, we were to all sit down at the conference table we had met at once before. I love the psychological aspects that go into body language and such so instead of sitting where I had before, like everyone else, I sat at the head of the table. I’m such a rebel.

Joining us was Prego. A temp as well, but wasn’t at the first meeting, and one could assume by her nickname that she is indeed visibly pregnant. In just a few short minutes, she shared everything but *how* she got pregnant…the first time AND the second time.

She announced that “they” had been trying to get pregnant for three years and were going through all the “fertility stuff” but it just didn’t work. Three months after stopping, like ohemgee! she got pregnant! and was on bedrest! and her son is just fine even though she delivered him early at 37 weeks.

I was really trying not to roll my eyes. Especially when someone chimed in with, “It must have been your body adjusting to getting off of all of those fertility drugs.”

And then on her son’s 1st birthday, the pregnancy test her FIANCE told her not to waste her money on because the doctor told her at the birth of their first child she would never have any more children and she knew that right, was positive! And they’re having a little girl!

A stranger asks, “Is she active?”

Oh, yes, and with the placenta here *rubs placenta*, blahBLAHdeblahblah….but right now she’s sleeping…I’m so big, my father-in-law asked me if I swallowed a watermelon!…yeah, it should be interesting for my son as he’s the first grandson and great-grandson…(wait. What??)

She sits next to me at our work stations. She’s going to make me nuts, I can just tell. This job is supposed to go through the end of the year (unless I find something sooner, as if!) and she’s not due until late December.

I’m going to have to hear about her pregnancy for the next 12 weeks, aren’t I?

I am SO showing off my surgical sites in a couple of weeks just to trump her pregnancy blithering.

14 thoughts on “Prego”

  1. I had to sit through 30 weeks of my office mates pregnancy. I wanted to claw her eyes out the week after we found out she was expecting.

    Good luck.

  2. Gah. I don’t say anywhere near that much in person—hell, I haven’t even written on my IF blog in weeks or at ALL on my regular family blog.

    You could always overshare with her and then maybe she’ll be so uncomfortable that she’ll be afraid to say anything in your earshot. Oooh, you could be the person in the office who can always trump whatever someone else has to say! It doesn’t even have to be true (hell, it’s more fun if it isn’t), and it’s only for 3 months anyway. Be the true rebel!

  3. Pregnant women should really be quarantined with other pregnant women so they can annoy the hell out of each other.

  4. Oh man, I feel for you. Ugh.

    I don’t know when I got on the moral highway – but I’m there non-the-less. Her FIANCE? They went through fertility treatments and they weren’t even married? Now I know you don’t have to married to have a baby – and *gasp* I may have been 5 months pregnant when I got married with #1, but fuck me – what’s the matter with slapping a ring on that finger and making it (and the baby) legitimate? What happened to doing things in order? Marriage THEN baby.

    Good lord, I’ve become my grandmother.

    1. I don’t think it’s the Moral Highway. I think it’s just us being annoyed by anything and everything people like this say and picking up on it. Obviously, she’s a whore.

      (j/k anyone who thinks that I’m calling her a whore b/c she’s not wed first. Obviously she’s a whore either way.)

  5. You poseur! A real rebel would have been contradicting her on all the “fertility stuff!” But, sigh, I suppose you’re supposed to be professional. Maybe you could tell her that you’re allergic to pregnancy and she’ll have to sit in another building? I do love those people who need to tell you their entire life story within 5 minutes of meeting.

  6. Oh puke-a-rama. As if being in a boring temp job wasn’t bad enough. Hmmm, as previously suggested maybe she will go early this time too.

    Good luck over the next 12 weeks…

  7. Why isn’t she on bed rest this time? I think you should keep subliminally telling her to go on bed rest. Maybe she will deliver early this time too…

    I know 12 weeks isn’t that long but December sounds like an awfully long way away. Probably because I haven’t even figured out Christmas gifts yet…sigh.

You can say it here.

