Breakin’ It Down

Abortion – what is currently chaffing my ass right now is the argument by the Republicans and Tea Party who think there should be significantly less government involvement in our personal lives, i.e. Health Care Reform. Ironic considering that they also want to make women criminals for having an abortion. If that’s not getting too involved in my personal business, I don’t know what is.

C-sections – woman’s body and all that aside, what makes me nutty is there are those who – unintentionally, I’m sure – make me feel that I didn’t advocate myself strongly enough to work harder for a VBAC from my physician. My choice was made. It’s a done deal. I hate the phrase, “You should have…” I had no problem with recovery or breastfeeding because my OB was competent and WE made the best decision for me.

Home Births – I shudder at the thought. The cleaning up would be left to relatives and friends?? As if. I can’t imagine my son in 20 years walking his fiance through the house and proudly boasting, “and this is where my mother pushed me through her vagina!” if he’d been a home-birth baby. Plus? I don’t want to be the person who is thinking “You should have…” if there’s life-altering complications.

Breastfeeding – Gross. I don’t want to see your boobs, even if I’ve told you I do. I’m with the party that uses the argument, “pooping is natural too but I don’t want to see that either”. And no, I don’t need reminding that I had some success breastfeeding Aitch. I missed it when it was over, but I am SO grateful I didn’t have to continue it up through the time she was able to use words to ask for the boob.

Pacifiers – are for babies. Get that? B A B I E S. Not toddlers. I recently had a mom rub it in my face that her daughter, six months older than Aitch, was potty trained by Aitch’s age. It took all my willpower not to throw back in her face, “but at least I don’t stuff a ‘pacie’ in her face every time she whimpers because I know how to interact with my pants-shitting child.”

Co-sleeping – again, like home birthing, I think this is to the parent’s benefit and not the child’s. Especially if the parent is always complaining about how little sleep they got. “But at least my sweetie-pie slept like AN ANGEL! and is in a wonderful mood while I’m sucking back my seventh cup of coffee!” Here’s the deal: if ALL of you got quality sleep, you’d ALL be in good moods and therefore a better home environment.

Sleep Training (CIO) – goes with above. “I can’t STAND to hear my baby cry!” That says it all right there. Oh, and the same thing that gets said about pacifiers.

Vaccinations – Go get your kid vaccinated, mmkay? They may feel like shit for a day, but it’s better than them being dead forever.

Oh, and for circumcisions? We did just because it was the thing to do. Not for religious reasons. We did not discuss how he might feel as a boy without one in school around his peers. It’s just the norm. And even with the recent push to NOT circumcise, I still would make the same decision today.

15 thoughts on “Breakin’ It Down

  1. I agree with you on most of these points! (maybe just not on the circum. one, but I believe that to be a personal choice.) And our 3 year olds still use pacis at naptime. And are nowhere close to potty trained.

    My current mantra is “I won’t judge you if you don’t judge me.” I’m not the best mother in the world and I know it, but damn it, I’m trying the best I know how.

  2. My 19-month-old still uses a pacie. We don’t use it during the day, but we give to her when we put her down for bedtime. I am dreading weening her from it. She goes down so easily. Pacie in, head on my shoulder for a second, then into the crib she goes. No crying.

  3. I don’t really have an opinion on breast feeding in public, if it is discreet, I don’t give a rat’s ass. Once, though, I was in the Enchanted Tiki Room at Disneyland and the woman next to me was breastfeeding her child. The kid was tall enough to kick me as it was breastfeeding. I judged the mom for that since it seemed like the kid was too old to me.

  4. I agree with some things and disagree with you about others… but I respect that it’s your decision to make on certain things and mine for me as well. :) In other words we’re adults and we get to have our own opinions which I think is good. Either way proud of you for speaking up about your opinions and not hiding them.

  5. love it, kudos for putting out there your opinions so now can I troll you? huh huh huh can I? Just don’t throw paci’s at me I’m likely to keep them for spares :)

    seriously though good on you kiddo, I like it so much I’m going to post my own thoughts later today on all of these topics, over at my dusty blog if more people said what they thought instead of what they believe is pc there’d be a hell of a lot less women silently cringing and looking ashamed when certain topics are raised.

  6. This should not be a surprise to you, I agree with you on all points. I actually saw what looked like a 6yo walking around the childrens museum with a paci. *cringe*

  7. I disagree with you. Which means you are wrong, you are a bad parent, and you are going straight to Hell. Obviously.

    Actually, I agree with most of the things you said. Unfortunately, our daughter is addicted to pacifiers. In our home she only gets them when she is in her crib. Nap and bed. Which we know needs to end. Our biggest problem is school and church. She knows she can manipulate the ladies there and begs and whines until they cave. When we show up she promptly hands it over knowing she shouldn’t have it. The end time is nearing but dragging out because the adults have other things to battle right now and want their selfish sleep.

  8. Hitting them all in one post? Damn! You looking for a fight today? I pretty much don’t care what anyone else does, as long as they don’t try to judge me. Or limit me. I do, however, recoil at the sight of toddlers with pacifiers. However, my sister is a pediatric dentist, so there might be some baggage there.

    My friend had one hospital birth, one home birth, and one attempted home birth where she was rushed to the hospital and delivered there. MY first reaction to the home birth was “Who’s going to clean up?!?!” which surprised her – everyone else was going with “It’s not safe.” And, her daughter actually was not breathing right away. Everything turned out fine, though. With her second son, I think there was some heart rate or blood pressure issue, and she had to go to the hospital. Fortunately, she had plenty of time.

    And, please…get your children vaccinated!

You can say it here.

