Photo Ops: The Closets

Sparring Partner and I would make trips once a year to see what was described as the Street of Dreams inThe Metro. Multi-million dollar homes all custom-built by different builders on one street would be opened to thousands of dirty, hot and stinky strange feet belonging to rubber-neckers, much like ourselves. Since we built, we haven’t been back as I would probably regret many of the decisions we made when we built our own home, not that I don’t have some already.

Closets. That’s what Heather requested a view of as well as the garage, but the garage section is going to require a separate post (you’re doing a happy dance now, aren’t you?). Oh, closets. The Street of Dreams had closets that you could…well, only DREAM of. Humongous walk-in closets. Some so large, that’s where they kept the washer and dryer. Some so large, they had their own center island and furniture. As large as my kids’ rooms. No, larger.

I would have loved to have gigantic closets but I know myself all too well. They would be a catchall for everything else I had no idea where to store. My husband and I agreed to keep both our own closets and the children’s closets realistic and efficient. They’re realistic all right in that there just is never enough storage. First off, we have Doodicus’s closet:

This is exactly how my son leaves it in the morning after getting dressed for school. He has that same ability to fuck up the hangers as my husband does. I apologize well in advance to my future daughter-in-law.

Aitch’s closet actually is on the other side of that wall and is the exact same size, but in a slightly different layout:

I feel I should defend myself by mentioning that all the clothes on the top pole are things she has outgrown and I have been saving for a garage sale. I honestly don’t know how I’m going to part with a lot of it…

Now for our closet. Be prepared to be underwhelmed:

This is how it looks standing on the bedroom looking in, and I swear I didn’t edit or pick up anything (which, DER!…).  I strongly recommend pocket doors whenever possible, but make sure you use quality fixtures or they’ll be a bitch to open and close.

This is the husband’s side and yes, there are a lot of t-shirts on the top row, organized (L-R) by colored t’s, white t’s and then polos and button ups. Long-sleeved shirts are kept on the bottom. I do the organizing, by the way, not Sparring Partner.

And now my side:

Uh, yeah. It is organized. In a way…long-sleeves on top (there’s a whole section of tanks that you can’t see), short-sleeves and rarely worn on the bottom. 50% of all my clothes need to be removed because I’m getting too big for them (I would rather say, “They are too small for me.” but that’s really denial.).

I don’t have a medicine cabinet or I’d sneak that in here with this, you snoops.

10 thoughts on “Photo Ops: The Closets”

  1. Our first house had laughably negligent closet space. When we built, I told the builder to put a closet everywhere he could. He laughed. I wasn’t kidding. I have two linen closets in my upstairs hall, as well as a walk in “off season” closet. You know what??? THEY ALL LOOK LIKE SHIT. I may be featured on an episode of hoarders.

    The master closet is such a sore subject. BigD is a clothes whore. Not expensive fancy clothes, but t-shirts, pants, old uniforms from when he did the patrol thing, and wind-shirts (I once counted 32 windshirt/jackets alone as he gets at least 2 every time he is at a conference/training, etc). All my clothes are squeezed into a teeny corner. I may have to post a picture. In fact, I may just do everything you do, it will save me from having to come up with ideas of things to blog about. I love you.

  2. You’re just bragging!

    Our has has ONE closet (downstairs, coats and vacuum). Sweden is not that into closets. We have wardrobes!

    However, we do have some small rooms we haven’t redone yet (they are going to be, we are hoping, a nursery and my office) that currently hold random crap. Where will that crap go once we renovate???

  3. You are one BRAVE woman. Closets are the bane of my existence.

    I’ve NEVER had closets before we built our house – and the closets were one of things I was most looking forward to during the building/moving time (aka HELL). When one has never had something – one doesn’t know how to “arrange” it. Since my clothes – for the majority of my life – lived in the laundry room (so everyone else could have closet space), it feels very foreign to me to have what some would consider a luxurious amount of closet space. The closet in our master suite is 2 feet larger than our old living room and it is floor to ceiling filled with all the crap I don’t know what to do with … or can’t seem to get rid of. And my clothes, well they remain in the laundry room.

    I wish my closets looked like yours!

  4. I have closet envy. Which is why I asked for the photo – because I HATE my closets and like to look and dream…

    We rented for three years. Huge walk-in closets. Two in the master bedroom. I had no idea what I was giving up when we bought. We have TINY hole in the wall closets in this house. I dream of bigger closets because I love to hide things behind doors…

  5. Those look like decent sized closets – I don’t know what anyone would need with a bedroom-sized closet anyway. Unless they’re really rich and need space for a different outfit for every day of the year. (Of course, when my MIL saw our closet, she thought it was another bedroom – weirdly placed and with no window. But we have to share the closet. It must be large.) However, I think if we ever build another house, I would prefer to have a separate closet from my husband, because his constant whining about the look of my sweatshirt shelf or the sheet shelf is making me crazy. (Things are stacked haphazardly and no edges align neatly. I say, at least they’re stacked!)

You can say it here.

