Stepping Up

I’ve mentioned at different times my friend who I use to work with that also struggled with secondary infertility. She got pregnant in high-school and now has a sweet teen-ager. Several years ago, shortly after she met and married a wonderful man, they had tried to get pregnant. This is also the same friend who has a great deal of faith and while they agreed to give a few rounds of IUIs with clomid a try, they didn’t feel IVF – or any further ART – was for them for religious reasons. They then started on the path towards adoption, just completing their profile a few months ago and are officially waiting.

This friend, who we’ll call Sasha, can be quite exasperating, but what friends aren’t on occasion? We definitely don’t see eye to eye on religion, ART, or even adoption (at this point, she wants a closed adoption), but I have an unbelievable amount of admiration for her. Once pregnant at 16, she could have easily become one of the majority of single teen moms and drifted through her adulthood, but she finished school, moved out on her own with a baby, worked full-time, got a college degree and soon after her masters.

When my ex-boss was promoted, his position was left unfilled for nearly a year. Several times I would encourage Sasha to apply, but she always waved away my suggestions (and her husband’s and her other friends’) by saying she wasn’t qualified. But Sasha’s hard work within that department didn’t go unnoticed and eventually the CFO went to my former boss and told him to find out if she was interested in the management position. Finally she figured, “what the hell”, applied, interviewed and quickly became the new director of the department. I am over the moon for her, and I can’t help but be glad I no longer work there, as we would no longer be able to sit in each other’s offices and have our bullshit sessions or disappear for an hour-plus lunch.

Sasha has completed our taxes for us for the past few years. Sparring Partner and I always talk about paying her, but she refuses. I think she’s just being polite, silly woman. This year was no different even though she admitted that with her new position, she might not be able to get them done as quickly. However, true to form, she finished them as quickly as before. So this time, as not only as a way to show our appreciation for putting up with our tax issues but to congratulate her on the promotion, I am doing something for her that she wouldn’t think of doing: Getting her new shoes.

Here’s a young woman who is now in a prominent position with one of the largest employers in our town and she’s running around in shoes from Payless. Not that there’s anything wrong with that… She just doesn’t know how to reward herself so I’m going to surprise her with these:

I’m very proud and happy for Sasha, so I want to make sure her career takes off on the right foot.

I know. Bad pun. It’s the one I’ll include in her greeting card as well.

6 thoughts on “Stepping Up”

  1. What a great gift idea! You are a good friend. As a girl with a surgically re-built left ankle, who can’t wear heels anymore, I’m coveting the black pumps…where are they from? I have a touch of shoe-envy. While I am forever relegated to wearing flats, a “good sturdy walking sneaker…think New Balance” or a low wedge, I looooove me some badass f-me pumps. I watch America’s Next Top Model *JUST* to see the shoes.

    1. The black t-straps are from Clarks Plush collection. That’s a bummer about not being able to wear heels. There was a time (actually four years) when I wore nothing BUT heels. Wearing flats really hurt my calf muscles. I recently got these heels (only a 1″ lift but the platform makes them look higher) http://www.zappos.com/naot-footwear-valencia-espresso-leather (but I didn’t pay THAT much for them) and I LOVE them. A reviewer said they looked “too harley”…I knew I made the right choice.

  2. You may be the very best kind of friend ever. I mean, giving SHOES as a gift??!! I think I fell in love with you a little just reading that!! 😉

You can say it here.

