Details on Aitch’s Cabinet

As most of you know, because I couldn’t help but brag about it on Facebook and Twitter, my little redo was featured on Better After. I haven’t been linked to by a big name blog in years, so my head blew up the size of an advertising dirigible. I can’t wait to finish another project just to see if I can get a repeat performance. POWER! GIVE ME POWWWWERRRR!!

*ahem*

I couldn’t help but go back to Lindsey’s (yeah, I’m cool. We’re on a first name basis (even though it’s right there on the blog.).) (Of course, that’s the only name she gave me, and I voluntarily gave her mine because she asked.) blog each day to read the comments, which I was relieved to find that they thought I had done a great job. But with all 15 Minutes-of-Famers, there’s always one of those in every crowd: one commenter thought I had basically devalued the piece, which across the seas is worth billions of dollars and now no one else will want it since the color scheme is so personalized…I paraphrase for drama.

Call me crazy, but that was the whole point of redoing it. It had no personality. I have no intention of turning around and selling it. It’s for my home. In 50 years when I’m worm food, my kids can throw it on a bonfire and curse my lack of good taste. And if I gave you a dollar for each of those 50 years, that’s how much I had paid for it 10 years ago…so OK, 83 cents a year – rounded down.

I was also asked by some amazing people about the details of the project, so if the rest of you want to get caught up on your bloglines or reader, uh, you may go now.

After following some links from Better After to other beautiful redos, I happened upon a product that often gets referred to as “liquid sandpaper”. Wil-bond was the brand-name tossed around the most by the other bloggers. I checked several local stores for some, including ACE Hardware, Bomgaars and a personal building supplier but no one had Wil-bond so I just bought their brand, which was labeled as a deglosser.

I followed the instructions on the container by cleaning the entire cabinet, which led me to finding an old spider nest and cat hair still stuck to it from before we moved. Once the alloted time passed (there’s a suggested window of time for when it’s best to add the new color, and that means don’t start deglossing at 10:00 p.m. and think you can then add the color the next day. Nope, for best results, an hour. Plan ahead.), I put the first light coat of quick-dry spray paint on. In this case, I did not use a primer. After adding two more light coats of color, I dragged it back into the garage and let it completely dry overnight.

My inspiration for the base color was the fabric itself. I found the duck cloth at Hobby Lobby. The weight is between a percale and upholstery fabric so it had body without too much heft. Specifically, this fabric was called “Owl Lelujah Floral” (#750331). I measured each side of the drawer for the panels and then cut a matching panel from the thinnest foam board I could find at Hobby Lobby (which is where I picked up the paint and fabric). I sorted the front panels out because I wanted them to be padded.

To pad the panels, I just used spray adhesive on the foam board and the batting (the kind used for quilts as it comes it “sheets” and was easier to work with for this kind of application). Once that was done, I cut out enough fabric to cover each panel as well as plenty to overlap to the back, which is where I did something that most professional furniture redo-ers would probably find sacrilegious: once the fabric was folded to the back, I hot-glued it. Not only that, but I have to confess that’s how I attached the fabric-covered panels to the weaved panels of the drawers.

I’m a HEATHEN!!

For the side panels, I used spray adhesive again and applied it to the fabric and foam board because it would provide a smooth finish. Now to defend my use of the evil hot glue, I did try removing the wood trim that was between the weaved panel and the drawer frame. Unfortunately, those bad babies were glued on using kryptonite and unicorn snot. Nothing was getting those suckers off, not without breaking the trim and ruining the whole project.

The top of the piece was finished off similarly to the sides, just larger. I guessed at the amount of fabric I would need so I think I bought two yards and when done, there was about an 18″ square left, if that.

I adored the colors and patterns of the other duck canvas that Hobby Lobby had in stock. I found one in particular that I would love to use on the second cabinet that is sitting in my dining room (which as of right now has a small cookie sheet pan sitting on top of it so my plant that is sitting on top of THAT doesn’t leak all over it) (and that was decorated with a permanent marker by my son, so yeah…it looks REAL classy!), but Amie offered an excellent suggestion in leaving the weave texture. I’m seriously considering it since it would save me a buttload of time and I wouldn’t have to use hot glue. Maybe a deep, glossy red?

I don’t know. What do YOU think? And yes, that is where it would go: next to that other incomplete project from years ago…

4 thoughts on “Details on Aitch’s Cabinet”

  1. Is that the new fabric sitting folded on the incomplete project?? If so, use it to make a seat “bench cover” pillow for the incomplete piece, then paint the wicker piece the red in the flower on the fabric. Kewl.

    1. That’s the fabric I bought over a month ago because I was tired of Sparring Partner complaining that I don’t have the fabric chose FOR THE BENCH SEAT. I have now been waiting that long for him to finish the the base that the bench will be created from. This is why I don’t want his help when it comes to my projects. He always turns them into marathons.

      As for that plant, I’ve been trying to kill it for over six years. That’s my “Sorry you had a miscarriage” plant. I watered it this morning.

You can say it here.

