One Day at a Time

Tuesday night I took my first Ambien and first Paxil.

Wednesday morning I woke up with the kind of hangover that reminded me of my much younger days when I went through a different kind of drug experimentation. And not in a very good way at all. I wanted to puke.

I vaguely remember waking up in the middle of the night for a bathroom trip. And I do mean VAGUELY.

Most of the day Wednesday I felt nauseous and lost some water weight due to intestinal distress, which my PA warned me about. The anticipation really didn’t do the eventual event much justice. I didn’t even dare to have my cup of espresso! It wasn’t until late afternoon that I finally started to feel considerably better.

Wednesday night I decided to skip the Ambien and just take the Paxil. That’s the one I need to get my body adjusted to (if it WILL adjust), plus I need to rule out which one was making me feel very much fucked up.

Thursday morning was rough, but nothing like Wednesday morning. I still avoided my coffee but no sudden evacuations (Are you catching my drift or do I need to snow again?). My brain feels distracted, befuddled. My concentration is shit right now. My eyeballs hurt. I had to develop an xray and as I stood in the dark room with just the red light on I teetered and swayed even though I am wearing flats because I felt unbalanced.

God I hope Day 3 is better. They say that it can take a couple weeks to feel better. I just think that after a couple of weeks you get use to the crappy side affects and that in itself can make you happier, not that it’s chasing away the Depression.

10 thoughts on “One Day at a Time”

  1. Ambien is the devil. Tried it and decided I would rather stay awake indefinitely than take it again. Because of my entrance into the lovely stage of life whence hot flashes arrive, my MD gave me a very small dose of Xanax at bedtime to lull me into sleep. Much better results with no hangover and I actually remember when I wake up to pee.

    At the risk of repeating myself (old people do that you know), it took multiple tries on different AD’s before I found one that gave me the results I needed. I would say ten days on any given med will show you if it will work or not. (in truth, it should only take a week, but some people it takes longer). I personally wouldn’t stick out two weeks if you aren’t seeing any benefit before that. But, that’s just me and I can be a bit contrary.

  2. Are those normal side effects?? I dont think that is how they are supposed to make you feel, lol. Unless you are one of those lightwait-pill people…..
    Best of luck

  3. Hope you start to get the good effects of your “drugs” soon. I was on Wellbutrin for depression during the “fun” days of multiple miscarriages. It worked but the weird dreams were disturbing.
    My only experience with Ambien was the second night in the hospital after Marjorie was born and I don’t remember AT ALL that they brought her to me in the middle of the night and I apparently read off the number on my wristband, signed the form that I was accepting that they were leaving her in the room with me. I woke up at 6:00 am with her in the bed with me and no idea how or when she got there. I was a bit ticked with them as my chart clearly had stated that I had taken an Ambien and to NOT bring me the baby. I didn’t get the sick feeling, but then I don’t know for sure as I had the epidural headache that the hospital also didn’t catch until it was too late to do anything about it. Good thing I am done with the baby thing as I wouldn’t want to go back to that hospital again.

  4. I’ve found I can take half an Ambien and it still puts me to sleep while reducing (though not completely eliminating) the hangover. Plus, bonus: makes the prescription last longer!

  5. That’s why I couldn’t tolerate any of the AD’s Rx’d for me (Lexapro, Wellbutrin, Trazadone)…

    & yep, sleeping pills give me hangovers too – when I’m desperate for a good night’s sleep I’ll fractionate one (I’m talking about approx 1/6 tab), which leaves just a slight fog that I can wash away w/a cup o’ coffee!

    Hang in there.

  6. How long did they advise you give it to see if it works for you? I’ve never had side effects quite like that on any drug they’ve put me on. Be careful.

You can say it here.

