It’s a Better Day, Relatively Speaking

Today is a little bit better. I only took half of the Ambien and in doing so there’s no way I’m going to make those suckers last twice as long if I completely obliterate one side in trying to cut it in half. I’m going to have to finesse the fine art of halving the tiny pill or end up with a bottle full of ambien dust that’ll have to be snorted. And I don’t think it’s made for that intent, while on the other hand I’m sure some moron has tried.

I’m going to bitch about something else, OK? I’ll have to get all this out of my system before the ADs work their magic and I end up just shrugging my shoulders in bored indifference when this kind of shit comes up in the future. Let’s talk health care insurance.

I work in a medical office as a coordinator. I won’t get anymore detailed on that but it’ll explain why I have to talk to people like the one I’m going to mention in the following tirade:

If you had a fairly major surgery performed a year ago and now are finally getting statements billing you for the balance after your insurance finally paid, don’t come whining and pissing and moaning to me about how long it took. Insurance companies are fuckers. They will try all kinds of random shit to keep the benefits in their company’s coffers including "losing the claim", "sending it for review", "requesting medical documentation", "confirming student status," etc., etc. And while YOU (and I don’t mean you-YOU, I mean the policy holder who called me up with a bug up her ass), have every right to be concerned over how long it took your insurance to pay out benefits, it’s not like you can act all surprised that you are getting a bill.

Did you think the medical office just "forgot" to bill you? Did you never wonder what your ever insurance paid? I know damned well that if we get a request or a denial in the office, you got a copy of it, too, so that should have been a little reminder to follow up and see what’s going on.

And finally, just because you are friends with one of the staff here and a cousin to another, don’t think you can call me and pull the ole’, "Well, next time I guess I’ll have to go elsewhere!" bullshit and think I’ll woo you or apologize in hopes you won’t. I say good riddance. My doctor will say good riddance, ESPECIALLY since you are a cousin/friend of the staff. Blow as hard as you want, you are not going to get me to apologize on the behalf of our office for the incompetency of your insurance company or the fact you didn’t take responsibility for the services you sought out and were provided.

Suck it to the marrow, Ho-bag.

6 thoughts on “It’s a Better Day, Relatively Speaking”

  1. Swistle stole my comment. If everyone had to pay up front and submit their own claims to insurance they would see what shit we put up with daily from the companies not wanting to approve a claim for various bullshit reasons. I also bet that your ho-bag would be on the phone weekly to see if insurance had processed her claim to get HER money back.

  2. Oh, I work for a delightful state agency that is approximately 9 months behind in paying its bills. I get a notice from the insurance that my services were approved, and then I start getting bills from the provider because (mysteriously) they would like to be paid. By someone. Someday. It’s a huge pain in the ass. But all of my copays are determined up front, so I’m never confused by what I owe. My drug benefits though? Those confuse the hell out of me! But I don’t blame the pharmacist, even though I do make them explain things.

    1. I reminded her that someone from our business office contacted her in regards to her insurance back in June. If she had further questions, I could give her the phone number to her insurance company’s member services and thanked her for her call.

  3. 1. I ended up having to BITE Ambiens in half. When I needed one, I’d put my fingernail carefully at the halfway point, then bite up to my fingernail. That sounds a little weird when I type it out, but WHATEVER, MY PROBLEM AND HOW I SOLVED IT.

    2. I used to work at as a pharmacy tech and I was continually confronted by people who had ZERO IDEA how insurance worked. Not that I’d expect them to, but they had zero grasp even when I carefully explained it, and continued to be angry at US, the PHARMACY. Like, their insurance wouldn’t cover a medication, so they’d STORM OUT, saying they’d go to another pharmacy. Er, good luck with that, since your insurance is a common feature of both pharmacies!

    The main confusion seemed to be that now that businesses (pharmacies, doctors, etc.) bill the insurance directly, people don’t really understand how claim processes work. Like, AT ALL, up to and including that the claim process EXISTS. When I was a child, I remember my parents had to pay the doctor directly for appointments/treatments, and then fill out a form and submit it to insurance for reimbursement; I’ll bet in those days people understood who was to blame when there was a reimbursement problem!

You can say it here.

