Stool Pigeon

I wish I had something other than poop to report, but(t) I don’t. Actually I could talk about how 4th grade is going for Doodicus (not the best), or my mother’s health (not the best), or even my sex life (not the best), but(t) I might as well follow this whole Stooling issue behind us.

Behind us.

I crack me up!

Crack!!

Yeah, I guess not pooping is called Stooling. I had no idea, but it has a nice ring to it. That was on the instruction sheet I was given by the pediatrician Friday morning. I had made the appointment since Aitch hadn’t gone since Sunday, the night she was given an enema. I felt foolish sitting there telling him that my daughter wouldn’t poop but he explained that it was better to not wait. As I was starting to realize, and he confirmed, the longer she goes withOUT going, the longer she will continue to hold it in. He told me that after so much time, her bowels could expand so much that it could take years for them to return to normal size and function. During the exam, he said he could feel a banana-sized lump in her.

I’ve always hated bananas.

The short of it is that we are to give her an enema two or three nights in a row to make sure she is completely cleared out.

In the meantime, we are also to give her 1 1/4 ounces of mineral oil two times a day. According to my calculations that’s basically ten teaspoons a day. Yummmm-yum! Do you know what mineral oil mixes well with? Absolutely nothing. So far I’ve added it to milk, apple and cranberry juice, and chili. Looks just as appetizing in something warm as something cold. Any suggestions will be welcome.

The mineral oil is to keep anything from “sticking” and of course to soften things up. We are to use this system so that she can get use to the fact that it’s not going to hurt to poop. That’s where we think this all stemmed from: She had pooped in the potty at the very beginning of toilet training, but it was a rather large, painful stool. Aitch never used the potty again for anything but peeing since.

I’m looking forward to writing a post that doesn’t include poop, pee, potty. I can only guess you are, too.

11 thoughts on “Stool Pigeon

  1. You’ve probably heard this from one or more people, but it sounds like IBS. I had the exact same symptoms as Aitch (complete with enema fun, too) and they progressed through the years, building on top of that a sheer and total phobia of poo to boot. The painful ones put you off of pooping because they don’t just hurt like a mother, they also can tear and rip as they head out (both internally and externally). Some things which have helped:

    - Prune juice, warmed up first (be advised-the first days you try that, you may want to make those a “stay at home day” because results may vary.

    - Wheat germ. It can be quietly and easily put into damn near anything without detection – meatloaf, cereal, macaroni & cheese.

    - Porridge. Most kids + porridge = generally not much of a success.

    - Avoid breads and dairies as much as possible. You can’t totally go without because hello – cheese and bread! Life!

    - Drink water. Lots.

    - Avoid eggs and apples.

    - Fiber sachets added to liquids do really help. Fybogel, Metamucil, etc. As long as you keep the doses regular on those they can be great.

  2. Pingback: Travel Enema | Fusion Living

  3. Yeah, you definitely want to stay on top of it and NEVER let the poop back up. My five-year-old, as I mentioned, is STILL completely messed up about pooping because we let her stay constipated for too long YEARS ago. It is still a huge issue at my house. Honestly I clean up her poop situations as often as my newborn’s. It totally sucks. We do Miralax in chocolate milk every day and I am the crazy lady who will say stuff like “You can have a piece of candy if you finish your chocolate milk!”

    Good luck!

  4. As “a” said, mineral oil won’t mix with anything, but I think it also doesn’t taste like anything either? I wouldn’t know since I have never tasted it. But, do you think she will just take a spoonful of it? Or, if you haven’t tried it already, stir it into pudding? It wouldn’t necessarily have to mix, just have some good flavor in it so she will eat it.

    I think it makes sense that she doesn’t want to poop because it hurts. But it’s such a vicious cycle because if she holds it and eventually she has to poop it will hurt more! Hoping all the enemas will do the trick and then you and Aitch will never, ever have to do it again.

  5. Can’t mix mineral oil with liquids – it won’t work. Try maybe some cereal or rice or something? I feel so bad for the poor baby! I hope she can get things in order soon.

    • He said to try putting it on a salad if she’ll eat that. I had to wonder if he was nuts. She does get it into her system when I put it in with her juice. It doesn’t mix, but if she finishes a cup, she gets some in her.

You can say it here.

