Jack Handy

Here’s my Deep Thought from several days ago that I’m just now getting around to writing:

Most of us, at one time or another, have had someone with good intentions say to us, "God has a plan."

Huh. OK.

And we’ve probably all have heard, "God only gives us as much as we can handle."

Fascinating. Do go on.

So does that mean that God didn’t believe that I could have handled a living – but disabled – child and that’s why his plan was for her to be miscarried at 15 weeks??

And that’s all I have to say about that.

8 thoughts on “Jack Handy”

  1. I hate it when people say things like that as I always want to go “great, if he does have a plan I wish someone would tell me what it is so I don’t have to keep trying to make the right decision…”

  2. i got a lot of that when we lost Chloe’s twin…and a long speech from my doctor about how HARD two babies would be, so losing one really was for the best. It was only the shock and denial that kept me from slapping her.

    That said, I know that God does or allows a lot of things to happen that we don’t understand – but that every bad thing that has happened in my life, from rape, miscarriage, abuse, etc…He had healed the hurt, and allowed me to use that to reach out to others – to help them heal, or to build a relationship with them through our shared experiences. But when it comes down to it, He’s God – He doesn’t owe us an answer for anything – He has just promised to never leave us as we walk through the hardest moments of our lives. Even when we can’t, or refuse, to see He’s there.

  3. Well, you should talk to me. Because my view is that God doesn’t give a crap what goes on here until it’s time to tally up the score at the end of the line. Life happens, and how we react determines…well, maybe something. So you’ll get some credit for not giving up and for not turning into a bitter old woman (yet – I guess that’s not yet guaranteed). 🙂

    I hate cliches. Especially ones about God.

You can say it here.

