Out of the Mouth of No Longer Babes

Children say the darnedest things, don’t they?

Who doesn’t have a story about a toddler saying something completely mind-boggling in its logic; humiliating in its over-sharing; or just plain funny?

The other day I picked up the kids from daycare and I made the normal chit-chat (Did you have a good day? Did you do any projects? How much homework do you have?) when out of the proverbial blue and its unlikely lighting, he struck:

It would have been fun having those four other brothers or sisters, wouldn’t it, mom?

Of course I shrugged it off with nothing more than a “I suppose so” in response. I try not to think about it, you know.

I said *try*.

9 thoughts on “Out of the Mouth of No Longer Babes”

  1. Ouch.

    My daughter likes to tell me how she really wants me to have another baby…I finally told her yesterday that she really hurts my feelings when she says that. She doesn’t understand why, but maybe it will make her stop poking at me.

  2. Gaaaaah. Mine is almost 5 so we’ve had some interesting comments lately. My favorite was him poking my not-small belly and saying “Mom? Is there a baby in your big squishy tummy?” I didn’t even justify that with a response and instead told him it’s not nice to poke people.

You can say it here.

