I Remember When…

Imagine a pile of boulders on a truck. You have to empty the truck, but you can’t just start pull the heaviest and biggest boulder out from the pile. You have to start with the smaller ones, clear them away, methodically make room. That’s my brain right now.

Aaaaand I just realized that means I have a head full of rocks. Nice.

I don’t remember who any of my teacher’s were in school except for Mrs. Stingley. She was the opposite of her name sounds and as the Kindergarten teachers go, aren’t they always the sweetest, kindest, and most loving? She was. However, I have a heck of a time remember much of anything from my childhood, especially the traumatizing school years. Last night I was trying to recollect those moments that flit occasionally across my lobes and I realize while I can’t turn the stories into something meaningful today, I think the fact that I can still remember them must mean something. Maybe in 30 years, when my mind has slipped into the fog like my mom’s, I’ll be able to come here to relive them.

With that being said, I’ll be throwing up a bunch of these little senseless snippets from time to time. In fact, I may publish a half dozen all at once, but I want them to be separate posts. Don’t mind me and your "Reader.Clutter". Sit back and enjoy how boring my childhood was. Maybe once the little boulders are gone, I can talk again about the big, unwieldy ones.

One thought on “I Remember When…”

  1. I remember most of my grade school teachers, and a few of my high school teachers. I don’t remember much from childhood either – just these little flashes every now and again. Oh, and that time my cousin clocked my sister in the head with a chunk of firewood. That one is indelibly ingrained. 🙂

    Looking forward to your stories. Don’t worry, I’ll tell you if they’re boring…

You can say it here.

