Sing It With Me Now: Sunshiiiine On My Shoooooulders Makes Me Happyyyyyy

In the past week I ran across this article about an elderly gentleman who after nearly three decades of truck-driving, developed an interesting case of what is called unilateral dermatoheliosis (a fancy term for "sun damage"). The left side of his face (hence the "unilateral") is visibly more wrinkled and droopy than the right. The photograph is meant to shock us as to the damage caused by repetitive exposure to the sun and serve as a warning to reduce our risks. Not surprisingly, this has led to the debate as to how evil sunscreen is, chemically altering our bodies and generating third nipples and pus-filled toenails. Have you even met me??

I was diagnosed with malignant melanoma in 2010 and I unashamedly admit to harping on my friends who unwittingly announce, "ohemgee! I got The Worse sunburn this weekend while boating!" Frankly, I don’t find it an amusing anecdote, and I find it similar to my 20-something nieces and nephews regaling of how much they puked in the neighbor’s yard last night after binge-drinking. It’s stupid, self-harming behavior that’s entirely preventable.

It’s been a long time since I have felt so unwavering about a topic. I’m about to get up on my high horse and RIIIIIIDE!!

What really twisted my knickers were the remarks that came up in response to this particular image (which I discovered has been circulating around the ‘web for a couple years now…), specifically how they would rather send their kids outside without sunscreen and expose them to the risks of the sun rather than apply sunscreen because the risks that can be attributed to the chemicals. Then there’s the argument that exposure to the sun is good for us and our children.

…Regretfully, this is true.

My oldest sister was diagnosed with rickets as a little girl. When the disease was described to me, I imagined that she had decided to hole up in the basement and live among the toads and salamanders we shared the dirt walls with, and that she only came up to go to school. It explained so much about my weird sister… Now of course, I was just a child then and have since realized that my sister’s rickets resulted in her refusal to drink or eat dairy of any kind (not an uncommon side-affect of having been raised on a dairy farm. Some day I’ll tell you about chickens. REAL chickens.). My sister did not acquire rickets because she was not outside getting sun, it was her crappy diet.

"Sunlight lets human skin cells convert Vitamin D from an inactive to active state," (Wikipedia) That’s the simplest definition I have found, but what’s difficult to calculate is HOW much sunlight is needed to do this. Surprisingly, it is very little. VERY little: 10 minutes a day for most Caucasians. For me, that’s how long it takes me to walk up our lane to the mailbox and back dressed in shorts and a t-shirt. Plus, our bodies can store Vitamin D, which is how we get by in the winter months, in addition to foods that are supplemented with the vitamin. That means if you are going boating, beaching or biking, you’re going to need to protect yourself from the sun for all but a handful of minutes, which is the amount of time it will take for you to properly apply it. Sunscreens are not your only options here, but let’s talk about it.

Sunscreens can be filled with lots of nasty chemicals. The kind of stuff you don’t want on your skin when you go out in the sun, much less every day and certainly not every day on your kid’s skin. I found this wonderful website that can help you immensely wade through the goop of sunscreens, whether you just need a lip balm or something mineral-free for your family. It’s Environmental Working Group (ewg.org) and this database on their site lets you look up the sunscreen you are using; research the ones that your friends have "recommended"; or to research what ones are the best to go out and get. I wish I had known of this website before our Disney trip as it includes make-up and moisturizers as well.

From this website, a bullet-point review of sunscreen (emphasis is mine):

  • Use a sunscreen with a minimum of SPF 15 and a maximum of SPF 50;
  • Make sure labels list UVA and UVB (or broad spectrum protection);
  • Avoid products containing oxybenzone and retinyl palminate if you’re concerned about potentially toxic chemicals;
  • Choose lotions versus spray sunscreens for a more evenly distributed protection.
  • Remember to apply at least 2 ounces of lotion (about a shot glass full) and reapply often. The sun breaks down the ingredients in sunscreen that protect your skin. Experts recommend reapplying every two hours, or after swimming or heavy sweating.

Not only is anything over SPF 30 a waste of money, it can actually contain more harmful ingredients. With the new labeling requirements, it’s easy to spot the ones that say "broad spectrum". I do like the convenience of the spray, but only because I use to not like having the lotion on my hands and nowhere convenient to wipe them. Now that I can use every drop of coverage possible, excess just gets wiped off on my arms and legs. You all should know what a shot glass looks like. Imagine it full of your fave booze. That’s how much an adult needs to use with EACH application.

OK. You don’t like sunscreen. Fine, I get that it smells, is sticky, can make the kid’s eyes burn out of their heads, attracts dust, is full of poisonous shit. Well, whatever. No one ever said "sun protection" comes in applicable sunscreens only. Here’s your chance to show off your Scarlett O’Hara straw hat or to take a stroll with a parasol or wear a flowy beach cover-up. I have versions of all of those and I can’t tell you how freeing it actually is to 1) not have to do my hair just to go to the pool or beach; 2) get to use the silk parasol my husband had personalized with my name from Disney (and receive compliments everywhere I go with it) and the luxury of shade when there is none to be found (soccer field! track field! local car show! parade!); and 3) keep my fat ass under wraps.

I am definitely in the minority here in Hickville, USA. I guess I would have to call myself progressive when I’m surrounded by a sea of farmer’s tans, exposed bra straps and tank tops. I had to make this lifestyle work for me. I’m aging and my children are so young. I want to see my daughter get old enough she can sign my living will and put me away in a nursing home. I don’t want her to get married and have "In memory of my late Mother" typed in hindsight on the wedding program.

I honestly didn’t mean for this to be so long and I admit that about three-quarters of the way through, my bitch-and-complain sail lost wind, which explains why I started off so ranty and then petered out. To end this diatribe, I’ll share a quick exchange between my husband and myself from this weekend when we went to the local lakeside beach. Setting the scene: Me, sitting under our enormous sport-brella. Sparring Partner, sitting just outside of the shaded area next to me where I notice his back is getting a bit red in spite of getting an application of sunscreen.

"Hey, why don’t you scoot back a bit so you’re in the shade?"

"I’m fine. It’s not affecting you."

"If I had had lung cancer, and I knew you were smoking cigarettes when you weren’t around me, would you still say ‘It’s not affecting you,’ as an excuse to smoke?"

He moved to sit in the shade with me.

Your choice to not protect yourself may not directly AFFECT me, but it does have an effect on me. I care.

11 thoughts on “Sing It With Me Now: Sunshiiiine On My Shoooooulders Makes Me Happyyyyyy”

  1. I never wore sunscreen as a kid. And I do think that we’re a bit more uppity with the CONSTANT sunscreen use. I don’t put it on the kids if we’re outside for a half an hour, playing. In the pool, or longer than that, yes, definitely, and at least a 30. I don’t want them to burn. But the Mini was diagnosed with Vitamin D deficiency last year, and it was literally painful for him. Sadly, in the north, it doesn’t actually last us all winter as we like to think. Yes, we store it and the sun breaks it down, but our winters while they’re not snowy and as cold as yours, are very very grey. We give supplements to fight the winter months, but that sun is much needed in the summer.

  2. Bravo. I am amazed at the people who listen to the tanning bed industry that physicians are in the pockets of “big sunscreen” and that’s why we recommend sunscreen. Guess I’d believe the folks who wouldn’t make money if tanning beds were outlawed.

  3. Great post; I agree you should submit it to a magazine. A former co-worker recently died from metastatic melanoma. I believe it was less than 1 year from diagnosis to hospice. Extremely sad. In May I made sure to get another free skin check from one of the dermatology clinics.

    The first year after the girls were born, I noticed that my face had a LOT more sun damage, which shouldn’t be surprising given that I’m outside a lot more as a parent than pre-parenthood, but it wasn’t something I had actively considered and prevented. I am “remarkably” fair skinned according to my dermatologist — I don’t burn, but I don’t tan either. My dermatologist recommended Clinique Cityblock for daily use, year round. I love it.

    But for my self-esteem, especially during summer months, I have a spray tan membership. $35/month for unlimited spray tans, and worth every single penny. So my regimen is SPF body lotion and Cityblock daily, SPF30 Blistex lipbalm several times daily, a big floppy hat as needed, and a spray tan every 5 days during the summer.

  4. I’m super-into sunscreen and sun hats and rash guard bathing suits and sitting in the shade, but it seems like not that many people are, considering. The sunscreen we have I bought in the US on the EWG’s recommendations. I wonder if the ones sold in the EU (SOOO EXPENSIVE) have different ingredient restrictions than in the US.

  5. I must be odd (or have very small shot glasses) but I can’t imagine that amount of sunscreen or lotion could cover much more than face and a couple gangly arms and one leg. Thanks for the link to the website. Manufacturers will say anything they want to get you to buy their stuff including that it’s “safe” so I like research, nerd that I am.
    Also, think about submitting this post to Good Housekeeping; Readers Digest etc…its very well written.

  6. I hate when people use such all or nothing bs tactics to allow themselves to be lazy about safety issues! Apparently moderation is no longer a word! I do take the kids out in the mid-morning sun for 30 or so minutes 4 or 5 times a week. That is more than enough for their vitamin D needs, but well withing the safety zone for not getting burned. That said, I was totally inspired by you to change up their swimming wardrobes. They all 4 wear long board shorts and rash guards now (actually Lil C still wears a full body float suit because he’s a lazy little devil). Plus, I keep sun hats on them as much as possible. (You were also the inspiration for my sun hats in my etsy shop… https://www.etsy.com/listing/101251818/baby-beach-ball-hat-crochet-baby-hat, not trying to be spammy, just wanted to let you know what you inspired, the idea of sun hats that it, not saying you remind me of a beach ball… I remind me of a beach ball, but that’s a whole other story!) Because sun protection doesn’t have to mean staying indoors, nor does it have to mean only sunscreen. There are lots of ways to get your vitamin D and protect yourself (and your kids), too.

  7. I don’t spend a lot of time in the sun, but I’m pretty lax about sunscreen. I have not had a burn since…um…1993, maybe? And since I am pasty white and sport the only melanin I have in freckles and moles, I turn red immediately. I try to keep on my daughter when she’s going to be outside for longer than half an hour. She’s had one mild sunburn, I think – first degree, just pink for a day or two. I’d say I had sunburns once or twice a summer when I was her age.

    Since I moved 300 miles south, I noticed how much stronger the sun is, so I try to stay out of it. Should my little one take up sports, I will take up wielding a parasol. What a great idea!

  8. I am a bit of a freak about sunscreen. I worry about myself and Gabe but even more about the kids. There is so much research now about how burns as kids affect us as adults. I am almost to the point of using a shot glass worth of sunscreen on them and I’m definitely aware of reapplying every two hours. Oh and Gabe laughed when I bought sun hats this year but he has now admitted I look fashionable and cute. There’s no point in taking chances when there are things you can do to make a difference.

  9. Wow, a shot glass full of sunscreen? Never realized it should be that much on a person! Will have to slather on a lot more than I usually do to make sure I’m covered (especially now that we are in Southwest and the sun is so intense!).

You can say it here.

