My Brain is a Nice Place to Visit, But I Wouldn’t Want to Live There.

My son has on different occasions asked me whether a tomato is a fruit or a vegetable. I tell him that’s a great question and that he should ask his science teacher.

But now I’m curious so I google it. A tomato is categorized with the cucumbers, pumpkins and peppers so it’s a vegetable, right? Nope. Technically, it’s a fruit. They are all fruits. If a bloom creates the end result and it has seeds (whether they are edible or not), it’s a fruit. That means cabbage and lettuce leaves and potato and carrot roots are actually vegetables, but scientifically (!) they aren’t either. Vegetable is a culinary term, not a scientific category.

Not confusing at all.

This leads me to a post I saw on Facebook about Michelle Obama’s speech at the Democratic National Convention (which, as my husband pointed out, has the most unfortunate acronym…), and the whole "mom-in-chief" thing as compared to Ann Romney’s speech and the "love so deep only a mother can fathom it". Sparring Partner announced they had both played the Mom Card. The continuing smack down of women-on-women continues without the short nighties and the feather pillows.

But now I’m curious so I googled it.

Who DID play the Mom Card the most?

Romney
Mom – 5
Mother – 5
Dad – 7
Father – 3
Parent – 5

Total: 25

Obama
Mom – 2
Mother – 6
Dad – 5
Father – 3
Parent – 4

Total: 20

It was interesting, but not necessarily revealing. Trivia I’ll forget by the end of the day. But, hey, why not take it a step further… I found Hillary R. Clinton’s transcript from the DNC in 1996 (before the Mommy Feuds and the War on Women):

Clinton
Mom – 1
Mother – 6
Dad – 1
Father – 1
Parent – 19

Total: 28

And then I went one step further. "FAMILY / FAMILIES"

AR – 4
MO – 13
HRC – 21

So now YOU tell ME: are the presidential candidates’ wives fruits or vegetables?

4 thoughts on “My Brain is a Nice Place to Visit, But I Wouldn’t Want to Live There.”

  1. That’s interesting and surprising commentary. Of course, mere mentions of words are one thing, but what the words are saying is another entirely. I won’t go back beyond the two recent speeches here, but MO acknowledged roles beyond motherhood in a way AR didn’t. She also seemed to be speaking more for herself than expecting women everywhere to be of the same bent. But it’s definitely a card they play.

  2. That’s some in-depth study you’ve done! I haven’t really paid as much attention to the wives as I have to their husbands. I’m going to guess, based on Araminta’s analysis up there, that the reference to family has more effect – because just about everyone has some sort of family.

  3. OK, I went ahead and looked it up… Elizabeth Dole’s 1996 speech:
    Mom: 0
    Mother: 3
    Dad: 0
    Father: 1
    Parent: 4
    Family/Families: 3
    Total: 11

    Compared to HRC’s 21 & Bill won. Based on this completely anecdotal and non-scientific study, I’d say the Mom-card pulls votes…

  4. I’d be interested to compare HRC’s 1996 speech/speeches to Elizabeth Dole’s and see if the mom/family card won… Maybe you’ve stumbled upon an important political predictor?

You can say it here.

