I don’t cook often, but when I do, it’s friggin fast: Poached Eggs

I’ve become such a bore, haven’t I? I promise to not disappoint with this post, either!

Let me introduce you to the perfect poached egg. Perfect because it can be done in the time it takes to make toast and the technique means little to clean up in the Dishes Department.

One extra-large egg and a microwavable rice bowl
Break egg into bowl. Start over if you break yolk.
GENTLY add water to bowl so as to not break up the yolk or white. You’ll need enough to *just* cover the egg.
Microwave on High for 1 minute. Now’s the time to make toast! This is right after the ‘nuking. The heart was just a happy accident.
Carefully drain off all the water. If you break the yoke, start back at picture #2. I use this “fryer” spoon.
Tada! One perfect poached egg! (If you overcook it, it’s a “soft-boiled” egg. If undercooked, it’s a “sunny-side-up” egg.)

Since eggs are cheap and all microwaves are different, you can afford to tweak this a bit to make the egg turn out the way you like. The only egg I toss is one that doesn’t have the white cooked. This simple process means that we can serve breakfast for four in less than 15 minutes. I’ve never tried cooking up more than one egg at a time. On the other hand, we’ve never had breakfast ready in 15 minutes. There’s bacon to be cooked up, and Aitch is a bacon fiend.

3 thoughts on “I don’t cook often, but when I do, it’s friggin fast: Poached Eggs”

  1. Seems like there was a reason I needed to know how to poach an egg…Oh yes – Eggs Florentine. Thanks! I’ll give this a try!

You can say it here.

