“OCD” Does Not Mean What You Think It Means

When my husband got home after taking Doodicus to his most recent appointment with the psychologist, Dr. Harlow, I was – and still am – taken aback to find out that he may be diagnosed as OCD as well. A workbook was sent home with them and we are to complete a couple of the exercises inside. I thumbed through the pages waiting for the AHA! moment, but all I could do was look at my husband and repeat, "Really? REALLY??". I’m still trying to wrap my brain around it.

For the past couple appointments, I’ve encouraged Sparring Partner to go instead of me. There’s so much friction between Dad and Son, that I had hoped it would be advantageous for Dr. Harlow to see how they interact with each other. However, that creates frustration on my end because SP comes home and is so overwhelmed with suggestions and information, that we are not as efficient helping Dood in his day-to-day functioning.

The time before last, SP used his ipod to record the session in 10 minute blocks. This was both a great and terrible idea because after listening to it, I was so frustrated by how much time I heard SP going off on some tangent totally unrelated to why they were there in the first place. During one recorded block, I pressed FWD for ten seconds so I could skip over some random anecdote Sparring Partner was sharing, but each time I let it play, there was SP’s voice, continuing on! I was able to keep myself from criticizing him about it…until the night before this last appointment, that is. I really did try not to say anything, but I was probably PMSing or hungry or tired and I snapped. So yeah, that was the downside to the recording. And since he couldn’t get the ipod to record on this last meeting, I am more grateful for what he has recorded so far, but no less confused about the OCD thing.

And while we’re on the topic of ADHD, our request for an IEP (Individualized Educational Plan) was denied by the school’s administration as they did not feel Dood’s ADHD did not qualify as a "disability". Instead, we have a 504 Plan with a list of accommodations, and the school counselor will continue to observe his interactions with his classmate peers.

Doodicus turned 11 years old today. After a day of active labor with no progress, he was born via emergency c-section at a mere 5 pounds and 14 ounces. Back then, I didn’t have the internet to tell me that he was tiny for a full-term newborn, so I was your typical first-time mom: nervous, exhausted, overjoyed and hopeful. I still feel nervous, exhausted, overjoyed and hopeful. He’s my first born; my wonderfully sweet, little boy, and I adore every bit of him.

One thought on ““OCD” Does Not Mean What You Think It Means”

  1. I would say that you should make a point of going half the time or every third appointment or something. Otherwise, you will obsess about what you’re missing. As it is, you’re saying that your husband isn’t doing counselling right and that’s going to make the both of you (and Doodicus) crazy. Alternatively, can’t you call the doctor and ask whatever questions you have?

    Sorry to hear that the school isn’t willing to give more specialized help. 😦

You can say it here.

