“I will build peace…each day.”

February 14th, 2013. Valentine’s Day.

It’s also the two-month anniversary of the tragedy in Newtown, Connecticut. I want to do something special for the Valentine cards that my daughter can share with her friends and teachers at her preschool; something in tribute to the Love, the loss, and hopefully to the Peace we all desperately need. I haven’t been able to come up with anything that would be especially meaningful and respectful as I don’t want to be overt in my intentions. I also am taking into consideration her school is participating in the PeaceBuilders(c) Program . Here is their daily pledge:

"I am a PeaceBuilder.
I pledge to praise people;
to give up put-downs;
to seek wise people;
to notice and speak up about hurts that I have caused;
and to right wrongs.
I will build peace at home, at school,
and in my community, each day."

Would you like to help? If you have any ideas, please share.

2 thoughts on ““I will build peace…each day.””

  1. I never have any kind of good ideas like this, but I think it’s wonderful that you’re doing something.

    My thoughts have mostly been to thank my daughter’s teacher for being the first line of defense in an emergency…

  2. I have no good ideas, but our son’s school is doing acts of kindness this month. His room made cards for the hospital to give to patients. I thought that was a cool idea. Sorry I’m no help, but I am pleased to see that schools are trying to work on eradicating bullying.

You can say it here.

