Display Wall for My Children’s Art

Last May, I started a project. I wanted to create a display wall to display the kids’ art. The idea originally came from a photo on Pinterest from this website.

chalkboardwall

 

However, I knew I didn’t want to use chalkboard paint because we currently have a real slate chalkboard in the mudroom and the amount of chalk dust it creates is asinine and I don’t want it constantly mashed into the carpet.

The wall is the hallway that joins Aitch’s and Doodicus’ rooms. In the photo, you can see the doorway to the bathroom that is actually between the bedrooms. This hallway is also right off the living room so it’s highly visible to anyone who visits.

The "before" picture includes my bag of supplies and a toddler potty seat. You're welcome.
The “before” picture includes my bag of supplies and a toddler potty seat. You’re welcome.

Knowing from past trips to the home improvement stores that the cork comes in 12″ squares, I measured the wall for length and then how tall I wanted it to go up on the walls. Simple math: 7 ft wide times 4 ft high meant I needed at least 28 squares. I also bought silicone adhesive, which is why I have the caulk gun. 
2012 006

 

As you can see, each square has a slightly different finish. Originally I considered painting it, but laziness won out. You might also notice that I had to cut around an outlet and a hallway light switch.

corkboard

 

We had left over window trim from when we built the house, which we used to cap the cork board and give it a finished look. A couple of things to note:

  • The corkboard is thin. A standard tack will be longer than the cork is thick so if I ever decide to remove this stuff, the drywall will probably need to be replaced. In hindsight, I could have put down an underlayment of foamcore boards (the least expensive) or doubled up the layers of cork.
  • The package may have said 12″ squares, but they were not SQUARE. I had to do quite a bit of trimming to keep the seams even all the way up and across.
  • The “Every child is an Artist” quote is made up of vinyl letters that I bought from Amazon.

When the kids aren’t paying attention, I’ll replace older pieces with more recent ones. Sometimes they even go hang their own as the mood strikes. I’ve included a list of the supplies *I* used for this project, but you may find yourself needing more or less (obviously). It took a couple hours to glue the cork to the wall, but as I said earlier, it was a year between when I started the project to when it got finished. I am the Queen of Procrastination.

  • Cork board
  • Heavy duty adhesive
  • Caulk gun (for the adhesive)
  • Box knife (and extra blades)
  • Yardstick or straight edge
  • Level
  • Pencil
  • Wooden trim (if you want a more finished look)
  • Hacksaw (to cut trim to size)
  • Thumb tacks
4 thoughts on “Display Wall for My Children’s Art”

  1. Looks very nice! My mom did this in our kitchen 100 years ago (or 30 – whatever), and piled up paper there. It was nice to have for calendars and phone numbers and such. I think the adhesive means you’d have to replace the drywall anyway. The thinness of the cork means tacks are easy going in but will stay put with the drywall.

You can say it here.

