Funny

Funny how I said I was going to update my blog more, and then I didn’t. Actually it’s not funny.

You see, my dad died unexpectedly in February. No chronic illness or condition that gave us time to prepare for the inevitable, unless you count life and aging, which as you may or may not know, continues only up until you die.

My father was in his 80s. I won’t go into too many details because while the trend continues to become less and less anonymous on-line, I still keep this place as much as a retreat as I can. I add more and more in-real-life acquaintances, co-workers, neighbors, classmates, etc. to my Facebook friend list and find myself posting less and less for fear of offending or alienating.

I found out my dad died when my mother, who if you’ll remember has Alzheimer’s, called me while my car’s hands-free system was active and my kids were in the car to tell me that he’d “been sitting in the chair all day and I think he’s dead.”

It’s “funny” that even though I told my mom to call 9-1-1 that once she hung up with me, she forgot to do so.

It’s “funny” that I had to call my sister-in-law and ask her to do this favor I can never repay and that’s drive the five minutes to the farm to see if my dad was indeed dead because I couldn’t.

It’s “funny” that my husband happen to be out of state attending his uncle’s funeral.

It’s “funny” I had to use Facebook to finally get a message to my husband’s family that if someone sees him to call me about a family emergency because he wasn’t answering his phone.

There’s been both your typical and atypical family drama that comes with the patriarch’s death.

And to make things really interesting, I accepted an executive staff position, which is at the minimum, full-time. Simply making a transition back to full-time has been hard enough, but the endless projects and responsibilities are…well…endless.

Plus? While the finishing of our basement project started off strong, it has ground to a near-halt because my husband, Sparring Partner, couldn’t be bothered to look at fixtures. There’s a light at the end of that tunnel, and I hope by June 1st when they set the island’s countertop, it is the end of phone calls and appointments and decisions. I swear, even choosing the shape and color of the outlets left me feeling overwhelmed.

6 thoughts on “Funny”

  1. I’m late to the party. I read this a while ago and knew, but I hadn’t commented. Losing a father is awful. That’s the best word I can use to describe it. It sucks and is just plain awful. I’m sorry that things have deteriorated with your mom that she didn’t call 911 and that hubby was out of town and all that craziness that ensued. I hope that the new job is going well. I love following you and think of you often. I’m glad we have facebook because catching up on blogs is hard for me anymore without the reader I used to use. It’s just not as simple as it once was. Many hugs to you and lots of love.

  2. So glad you are writing again. Missed you terribly but am caught up. So sorry about your dad…and your mom.

  3. Oh, Lord, I had no idea it was that fraught. I’m so sorry. 😦 It’s bad enough to lose your dad, but…well, maybe that other stuff will make for an actually funny story someday?

    As to the basement…well, I have no time for dithering. And yet I am married to one ditherer and am parenting another. It’s terrible. Pick one! How hard is it? You know what? Installing the one you choose today will not actually make you like something else better tomorrow. Also, if you don’t pick now, you may lose your chance entirely! I hated choosing all the stuff for our house…mostly because the ditherer wouldn’t buy the stuff I wanted (too expensive) and then wouldn’t settle on any alternative. GRRRRR!

You can say it here.

