This is my therapy.

Lots of things happening, but either not feeling the urge to blog about it or lacking the time. Right now, I’m sitting quietly next to a digital dictaphone while it records the dictation from another dictaphone because I screwed something up at work. Sparring Partner has eradicated the louder humans from the house, so I’m doing what I can with the silence gratefully acquired.

***********

We were on vacation a month ago. We spent a week at my Southern-living SIL’s vrbo beach house. The arrangements were perfect for us; specifically within a very short walk to the ocean and our own private pool. We had invited another couple and their two children who are close to Dood’s age, but they weren’t able to accept. Instead my single, child-free sister was crazy enough to accompany. I think by the time she got back home to her two cats, she was thankful to be both single AND child-free. I often felt torn between letting the kids dictate the schedule and making sure my sister was able to take advantage of the local offerings.

Unfortunately, the most memorable part of the trip for me was the harrowing return flight. I won’t bore you with details, but please for the love of the sweet baby Jesus, if you bring carry-on luggage with you, and even if you plan on not letting that item leave your side the entire flight, put one of those stupid little tags that are piled on top of the terminal’s check-in desk on your bag. Shit can, and will, happen if you don’t. I was so traumatized that I have cried each time I recount the details.

**********

I recently had a birthday. My mom sent me a birthday card and at the bottom of it she wrote, “Come get your rabbit.” I have no fucking clue what the hell that even means.

**********

My daughter turns five next week. I still get phantom let-down pains when I think about her infancy.

**********

Next month Aitch will start kindergarten. Not a big deal, certainly, but I’m mostly concerned about how my tu-tu wearing, pink! purple!, girly-girl will adjust to the navy/khaki school uniform requirements. I imagine it’s also more of a struggle with girls than it is for boys at that age. The worst part for Doodicus was teaching him how to tuck in his shirts and to button a fly. In the past year, Dood has worn one pair of pants that did NOT have an elastic waist, and that was for his grandpa’s funeral.

**********

Since my FIL’s death, my MIL has been holding my husband emotionally hostage. If before I didn’t care for her, I now want to kick her in her artificial hips. HARD.

**********

Sorry to end on what can only be the most somber of notes, but it is important to note that my son’s best friend’s dad committed suicide on July 4th. I had the chance to speak privately with Danny’s* mom the day after the funeral. While the dad probably had always had depression, it was both undiagnosed and untreated, however the circumstances that led to the self-inflicted gunwound were mostly acute in nature; an accumulation of events from the preceding handful of days. If the news hadn’t been horrific enough, Danny was the first on the scene.

I was lucky enough to be able to see Danny the day I talked to his mom, but I was utterly speechless with him. We made small talk as we admired the crucifix his pastor gave him at the funeral. While I am completely heart-broken for the family, I am also very angry at the selfishness of the dad. He left two young boys behind who are THE age they need to have dad around (not that there’s really an age a boy doesn’t need his dad…), but both currently face heavy bullying (one of the reasons my son gravitated to Danny in the first place because they were both picked on by the same kids when they first met years ago). Plus the younger child has emotional issues that likely will have to be closely monitored all his life. It all just makes my head and heart ache. It’s unimaginable the burden the mom carries. At the close of our talk, she said on top of everything else, she feels humiliated by what he did and knows that the community will judge her unfairly. Sadly, she is right. I know being there just to listen will help, but I really wish I had the ability to perform just one miracle…just the one.

*name has been changed

6 thoughts on “This is my therapy.”

  1. Sorry I haven’t had time to comment on ANYTHING here lately… certainly know what you mean about The Writing Cure however!
    I think I have your bunny down here in TX 😉 !!! Hang in there

  2. Oh Geez – what a crappy bunch of circumstances. I’m sorry about your mom. Aitch will be great in kindergarten, That sucks so hard about Max’s friend. His dad was very selfish, and his mom has a lot of tough things ahead. I wish there were a miracle available for her too. Has she considered moving? Maybe it sounds like running away, but sometimes there’s just nothing left for you in a location and it’s time to find a new start somewhere else. I wish their family the best – and you’re being a good friend, regardless of how you might think it’s inadequate.

    1. I asked her if she thought about moving as they live on a very large lot that requires a great deal of upkeep. That and the fact the scene was in one of the outbuildings. She said that while it was too early to think about it, she would prefer to stay in their home as it is a great size for the boys as they get older. She said that ultimately, she’ll leave it up to her children. I selfishly hope if she does decide to move, she’ll stay in this town because I know how devastated my son would be.

      1. Although it pales in comparison to your friend’s horrific experience, I remain “haunted” by PTSD-inducing events that occurred on my farm… However, after half-assedly thrashing it out w/H2, we’ve decided to stay put…

You can say it here.